---
title: "Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned: When the 1-Year Warranty Starts"
description: "Cadillac CPO adds 1 year, unlimited miles, after the 4-year/50,000-mile factory warranty ends. When it starts, what Cadillac won't say, and the old 6-year plan."
url: "https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/cadillac-certified-pre-owned/"
type: "article"
published: "2026-10-01"
modified: "2026-10-01"
site: "Baron Auto"
disclaimer: "This site is under new ownership and is not affiliated with Baron Auto Emporium dealership."
---

# Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned: When the 1-Year Warranty Starts

> Cadillac CPO adds 1 year, unlimited miles, after the 4-year/50,000-mile factory warranty ends. When it starts, what Cadillac won't say, and the old 6-year plan.

*Used Car Buying · 23 min read · 5,143 words*

## The short version

- Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned is Cadillac&rsquo;s own program, sold only by Cadillac dealers. GM kept it separate when CarBravo took over certified sales at Chevrolet, Buick and GMC dealers on June 2, 2026.
- A certified Cadillac gets a 172-point inspection and a 1-year limited warranty with unlimited miles. That year starts when the car&rsquo;s original 4-year/50,000-mile bumper-to-bumper warranty ends, or on the sale date if it has already ended.
- Cadillac&rsquo;s &ldquo;up to 5 years of coverage&rdquo; is a ceiling, not a promise. A car that reaches 50,000 miles before it is 4 years old starts, and finishes, its certified year sooner.
- After the certified year, only factory terms remain: powertrain cover of 6 years or 70,000 miles from first sale in every Cadillac booklet from 2020 to 2026, and 8 years or 100,000 miles on an electric model&rsquo;s battery.
- Cadillac publishes no age or mileage limit for certification, no inspection checklist and no booklet for the current warranty, so its covered parts, exclusions and any deductible are not public.
- Reviews quoting a 6-year/100,000-mile certified warranty describe the program cadillac.com advertised until 2020. cadillac.com&rsquo;s own pages also disagree on when today&rsquo;s warranty starts, so get the dates in writing.

Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned is Cadillac&rsquo;s own used-car program: a 172-point inspection, then a 1-year limited warranty with unlimited miles that begins when the car&rsquo;s original 4-year/50,000-mile bumper-to-bumper warranty ends, or on the day you buy if it already has. Only Cadillac dealers sell it. This guide is built from Cadillac&rsquo;s [certified pre-owned page](https://www.cadillac.com/certified-pre-owned) and the disclosures behind its asterisks, cadillac.com&rsquo;s warranty and offers pages, Cadillac&rsquo;s warranty booklets for model years 2020 to 2026, three archived 2020 versions of the certified page and Cadillac&rsquo;s 2017 certified warranty booklet, all read on 1 October 2026.

**Figure: When a certified Cadillac's warranty actually runs**

How Cadillac's 1-year, unlimited-mile certified warranty is timed against the car's 4-year/50,000-mile factory bumper-to-bumper term, what the factory powertrain and battery terms add, and the 6-year program Cadillac advertised until 2020.

Cadillac's certified-warranty clock from cadillac.com/certified-pre-owned and its disclosures, factory terms from Cadillac's 2020 to 2026 warranty booklets, and the old program from Cadillac's 2017 certified booklet and 2020 captures of cadillac.com, read on 1 October 2026. Each factory term ends at whichever limit comes first; the 5-year figure is our arithmetic.

## Cadillac&rsquo;s own program, not CarBravo

When GM folded its Chevrolet, Buick and GMC certified programs into CarBravo, it left Cadillac out. GM&rsquo;s [release of 3 March 2026](https://news.gm.com/home.detail.html/Pages/topic/us/en/2026/mar/0303-car-bravo.html) says CarBravo &ldquo;will become GM&rsquo;s sole used vehicle certification program for U.S. Chevrolet, Buick and GMC dealers and allow them to certify and sell GM and non-GM makes and models. Cadillac will continue operating its own independent Certified Pre-Owned (CPO) program&rdquo;. CarBravo took over on June 2, 2026; our [Chevrolet certified pre-owned guide](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/chevrolet-certified-pre-owned/) sets out its two tiers and their warranties.

The split matters on the lot. Cadillac says a certified Cadillac &ldquo;can only be found at a Cadillac dealer&rdquo;. CarBravo dealers may certify GM makes too, so a &ldquo;certified&rdquo; Cadillac on a Chevrolet, Buick or GMC lot is most likely a CarBravo car on CarBravo&rsquo;s terms, not Cadillac&rsquo;s. Ask which program certified it, and get the answer on the buyer&rsquo;s order.

Cadillac runs one program with one warranty. No Cadillac page we read describes tiers, or separate certified terms for electric models; the electric LYRIQ and OPTIQ appear in Cadillac&rsquo;s certified finance offers, so electric Cadillacs are sold certified too. Here is everything the certified page and its disclosures promise, and what they leave out:

**What Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned includes, as cadillac.com/certified-pre-owned and the disclosures behind its asterisks print it, read on 1 October 2026.**

| Item | What Cadillac says | What it doesn&rsquo;t say |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Inspection | 172 points, under five headings: under-hood and under-vehicle inspections, vehicle history report, exterior and interior inspections, road test, all scheduled maintenance performed | The checklist itself, or any pass mark |
| Certified warranty | A 1-year/unlimited-mile &ldquo;limited warranty&rdquo; | Covered parts, exclusions, any deductible, whether it transfers |
| When it starts | When the original 4-year/50,000-mile bumper-to-bumper warranty expires, or &ldquo;upon sale&rdquo; if it already has | No booklet is linked |
| Roadside assistance | 24-hour, during the certified year, &ldquo;provided by AAA&rdquo; | Which services |
| Courtesy transportation | &ldquo;alternate transportation&rdquo; during warranty repairs | Any daily or total amount |
| SiriusXM | A three-month trial on eligible equipped cars; &ldquo;Trial is non-transferable.&rdquo; | Which package |
| My Cadillac Rewards | 6,000 points &ldquo;when you enroll and purchase&rdquo; | What the points are worth |
| Where it is sold | &ldquo;only&rdquo; at a Cadillac dealer | Age or mileage limits, and any price |

## Which Cadillacs qualify: the limits Cadillac doesn&rsquo;t publish

Cadillac does not print an age or mileage limit for certification. We looked on the certified page and every disclosure behind it, the offers page, cadillac.com&rsquo;s warranty page, the archived 2020 versions of the certified page and Cadillac&rsquo;s 2017 certified booklet, and none sets one. Dealer and review sites quote several different limits, none of them sourced to a Cadillac document, so treat any cut-off you see as that seller&rsquo;s claim rather than Cadillac&rsquo;s rule.

What Cadillac does state are conditions on the car and on the seller:

- **The inspection.** &ldquo;Not just any vehicle can become Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned. To begin, each vehicle undergoes our 172-point inspection&rdquo; to make sure it meets Cadillac&rsquo;s &ldquo;stringent mechanical and appearance benchmarks&rdquo;.
- **Recall repairs first.** &ldquo;Vehicles are not eligible to be Certified Pre-Owned vehicles unless the dealer first performs any needed recall repairs.&rdquo;
- **A Cadillac dealer.** After the inspection, the car &ldquo;can only be found at a Cadillac dealer&rdquo;.
- **No salvage history, as far as the factory warranty goes.** Cadillac&rsquo;s certified pages say nothing about titles, but every Cadillac booklet from 2020 to 2026 says: &ldquo;This warranty is void on vehicles currently or previously titled as salvaged, scrapped, junked, or otherwise considered a total loss.&rdquo; The 2017 certified booklet said such vehicles &ldquo;are not eligible for coverage under this warranty&rdquo;. Our guide explains [what a salvage title means](https://baronauto1.com/vehicle-history/what-is-a-salvage-title/).

The way the warranty is built shows where certification pays most. The certified year sits on the end of the 4-year/50,000-mile factory term, so a one-year-old car mostly gets cover it already has, plus a year at the far end, while a car near or past the end of its factory term gets its year soon. Whatever the car, ask the dealer to state on the buyer&rsquo;s order that it is a Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned vehicle.

## When the 1-year warranty starts, and why &ldquo;up to 5 years&rdquo; is a ceiling

The start date decides what a certified Cadillac is worth. The disclosure behind the warranty headline reads: &ldquo;All Cadillac vehicles come with a New Vehicle Bumper-to-Bumper limited warranty that provides coverage for 4 years or 50,000 miles, whichever comes first. Upon expiration of the New Vehicle Bumper-to-Bumper limited warranty, the Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned Limited Warranty coverage begins, providing a full year of coverage with unlimited mileage. If the New Vehicle Bumper-to-Bumper Warranty is expired when the vehicle gets sold, the full year of coverage begins upon sale.&rdquo;

So two clocks run one after the other. If the factory bumper-to-bumper warranty is still running when you buy, you keep it: Cadillac says the car&rsquo;s &ldquo;original 4-year/50,000 mile Bumper-to-Bumper Limited Warranty will continue until it expires (by time or mileage, whichever occurs first)&rdquo;. The certified year starts the day it ends. If it has already ended, by age or by mileage, the certified year starts on the sale date.

Cadillac sums this up as &ldquo;giving you up to 5 years of coverage&rdquo;. By our arithmetic, 4 years of factory cover plus the 1-year certified term is 5 years from the car&rsquo;s first sale, and that is the latest the certified warranty can end. A car gets there only if it reaches its fourth anniversary before 50,000 miles. One that reaches 50,000 miles sooner starts its certified year at that point and finishes it sooner. The certified year itself has no mileage limit, which is where a high-mileage driver gains: Cadillac calls it &ldquo;an additional year of coverage with no limit on mileage&rdquo;.

**cadillac.com gives two different start dates.** Its [warranty page](https://www.cadillac.com/warranty-repairs) says certified vehicles &ldquo;include a limited warranty that activates at the time of purchase/lease&rdquo;. The certified page says the warranty &ldquo;activates as soon as the vehicle&rsquo;s original Bumper-to-Bumper Limited Warranty expires&rdquo;, and its disclosures start it &ldquo;upon sale&rdquo; only when that warranty has already expired. On a young car the two readings give different end dates. Ask the dealer to write the certified warranty&rsquo;s start and end on the buyer&rsquo;s order.

Here is how the clock works on six hypothetical Cadillacs bought on 1 October 2026. These are our worked examples, not Cadillac figures:

**When certified and factory cover end for six hypothetical Cadillacs bought on 1 October 2026. Our arithmetic, applying Cadillac&rsquo;s published clocks; each factory term ends earlier if its mileage limit comes first, and the certified year has no mileage limit.**

| Car | Certified year | Factory cover still running |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 2024 model, first sold 15 March 2024, 24,000 miles at purchase; factory cover runs out on time | 15 March 2028 to 15 March 2029, any mileage: 5 years from first sale | Powertrain to 15 March 2030 or 70,000 miles |
| The same car driven hard, passing 50,000 miles on 1 August 2027 | 1 August 2027 to 1 August 2028, any mileage: about 7 months earlier | Powertrain to 15 March 2030 or 70,000 miles |
| 2022 model, first sold 1 May 2022; bumper-to-bumper ended 1 May 2026 | 1 October 2026 to 1 October 2027 | Powertrain to 1 May 2028 or 70,000 miles |
| First sold 1 September 2023, 56,000 miles at purchase | 1 October 2026 to 1 October 2027 | Powertrain to 1 September 2029 or 70,000 miles: 14,000 more miles |
| Electric 2024 model, first sold 1 November 2023, 30,000 miles at purchase | 1 November 2027 to 1 November 2028, if the factory cover runs out on time | Battery to 1 November 2031 or 100,000 miles |
| Certified under the old program, first sold 1 June 2019 | The old certified warranty ended 1 June 2025, or earlier at 100,000 miles | Depends on that model year&rsquo;s booklet, which we did not read |

The second row is the one to watch. A heavy driver who passes 50,000 miles early loses months off the end of the certified year, but gains a year with no mileage limit at all. The fourth row shows the opposite trap: the certified year starts at once, but the factory powertrain cover has only 14,000 miles left in it.

## What the factory warranty still covers on a certified Cadillac

A certified Cadillac keeps whatever is left of its factory warranty, which belongs to the car rather than to the certified program. We read Cadillac&rsquo;s [Limited Warranty and Owner Assistance Information](https://contentdelivery.ext.gm.com/content/dam/cope/en_us/public/pdf_assets/active/warranty_manuals_browse/2026/cadillac/26_CAD_WM_en_US_U_19680760A_2025MAY20.pdf) booklets for every model year from 2020 to 2026, and its electric-vehicle booklets for 2023 to 2026. The core terms are the same in all of them, and each says &ldquo;The warranty period for all coverages begins on the date the vehicle is first delivered or put in use&rdquo;, so count from the first owner&rsquo;s delivery, not from your purchase.

**Factory terms a certified Cadillac carries, from Cadillac&rsquo;s warranty booklets for the model years shown, read on 1 October 2026. Each term ends at whichever limit comes first, counted from first delivery.**

| Coverage | Term | Booklets that print it |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Bumper-to-bumper | 4 years or 50,000 miles | Gasoline 2020 to 2026; electric 2023 to 2026 |
| Powertrain | 6 years or 70,000 miles | Gasoline 2020 to 2026; the electric booklets print no powertrain heading |
| Electric propulsion battery | 8 years or 100,000 miles; repaired or replaced if capacity falls below 75% of its original value | Electric 2023 to 2026 |
| Roadside assistance | &ldquo;for the duration of the Limited Powertrain Warranty Coverage&rdquo; | Gasoline 2020 to 2026 |
| Professional vehicles with the ZR3 option | Powertrain 3 years or 150,000 miles | Gasoline 2021 to 2023, 2025 and 2026 |

By our arithmetic, the factory powertrain term ends 1 year after the latest point the certified year can end, and 20,000 miles past the bumper-to-bumper limit; an electric model&rsquo;s battery term runs 3 years past it. Mileage can turn that around. Because the certified year has no mileage limit, a car that crosses 70,000 miles during its certified year outruns its factory powertrain cover while still inside the certified year, and Cadillac&rsquo;s pages don&rsquo;t say which parts the certified warranty covers then. (Our explainer sets out [powertrain versus bumper-to-bumper warranty](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/powertrain-vs-bumper-to-bumper-warranty/) cover.)

**Former fleet and livery cars.** The 2025 and 2026 booklets say &ldquo;Qualified XT5, XT6, Escalade and Escalade ESV professional vehicles with the ZR3 option are covered for 3 years or 150,000 miles, whichever comes first&rdquo;, and XT5 fleet vehicles with the BQ9 and V4U options for 6 years or 100,000 miles. The 2021 to 2023 booklets print the same 3-year/150,000-mile powertrain term for ZR3 vehicles sold to &ldquo;funeral directors, livery, and hotel customers&rdquo;. A three-year-old former livery Escalade can have no factory powertrain time left at all, so check the car&rsquo;s history for fleet use.

**The 2023 Escalade-V.** cadillac.com says &ldquo;2023 Escalade-V limited warranty transferability is subject to a 6 month retention policy from the date on which you take delivery&rdquo;; if ownership changed sooner, &ldquo;The Bumper-to-Bumper, Powertrain, Sheet Metal, Tire and Accessory coverages under GM&rsquo;s New Vehicle Limited Warranty will be voided.&rdquo; The 2023 booklet prints the same rule. The 2024 booklet keeps the 6-month rule only for Escalade V-Series sheet metal, tire and accessory coverage. On a young certified Escalade-V, ask when the first owner sold it.

**Transfer.** Factory cover follows the car. cadillac.com&rsquo;s warranty page answers &ldquo;If I sell my car, do the warranties transfer to the new owner?&rdquo; with &ldquo;Yes. Those limited warranties that are still active will transfer to the new owner.&rdquo; The 2023 and 2024 electric booklets add that the battery warranty &ldquo;is transferable at no cost to any subsequent person(s) who assumes ownership of the vehicle within the 8 years or 100,000 miles term.&rdquo;

**Figure: Annotated photograph**

Three numbered callouts over the photograph mark the speedometer scale and the engine warning light, with the end points of Cadillac's factory and certified warranties.

Cadillac's certified year starts when the car's original 4-year, 50,000-mile bumper-to-bumper warranty ends, whichever limit comes first (callout 1), and Cadillac gives it no mileage limit (callout 2); Cadillac's 2020 to 2026 booklets end factory powertrain cover at 6 years or 70,000 miles (callout 3). The photograph is illustrative.

## The 172-point inspection: five headings and no checklist

Cadillac says: &ldquo;Every Certified Pre-Owned Cadillac receives a meticulous 172-point inspection to make sure it meets our stringent mechanical and appearance standards.&rdquo; Beneath that it prints five headings: under-hood and under-vehicle inspections, a vehicle history report, exterior and interior inspections, a road test, and &ldquo;all scheduled maintenance performed&rdquo;. Cadillac&rsquo;s page gave the same 172-point count in September 2020.

That is all Cadillac publishes about it. The page links no checklist, and the asterisk after &ldquo;172-point inspection&rdquo; opens a recall notice rather than an inspection standard. A file named as a Cadillac inspection checklist is hosted on cars.com, which blocked our request. GM&rsquo;s own 172-point form, still on gmc.com, belongs to the Chevrolet, Buick and GMC program and names no brand, so we have not treated it as Cadillac&rsquo;s. Nothing Cadillac publishes sets a pass mark, such as a minimum tire tread or brake pad thickness.

So ask for the completed inspection report for that VIN, with the technician&rsquo;s entries on it, and the repair orders for any reconditioning and for the scheduled maintenance Cadillac says is performed. Then get your own check: our [pre-purchase inspection guide](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/used-car-pre-purchase-inspection/) covers what an independent mechanic should look at.

**Recalls.** Cadillac says &ldquo;GM requires dealers to complete all safety recalls&rdquo; before a certified car is listed or sold, and admits the process can fail: &ldquo;Because of timing issues, or because of dealer error, it is still possible that a vehicle listed on this website needs a recall repair.&rdquo; It tells buyers to enter the VIN at my.gm.com/recalls. Our guide to [checking a car for open recalls](https://baronauto1.com/vehicle-history/how-to-check-a-car-for-open-recalls/) shows how.

## What the certified warranty covers, and what Cadillac leaves out

Cadillac calls it a &ldquo;limited warranty&rdquo; and says it provides &ldquo;a full year of coverage with unlimited mileage&rdquo;. It does not say which parts the warranty covers, what it excludes, whether there is a deductible or whether it passes to the next owner, and it links no booklet. We could not find a current Cadillac certified warranty booklet: cadillac.com links none, and the document index that cadillac.com&rsquo;s manuals page searches holds none. The only copy a search turned up sits behind a bot check, which we did not try to get around.

The last Cadillac certified booklet we could read is the 2017 edition (Part No. 2017CPOWRNTY), which GM no longer serves; a used-car dealer&rsquo;s website still hosts it. It describes the old 6-year program, not today&rsquo;s, but it shows the kind of limits a Cadillac certified warranty has carried:

- **Listed component groups:** engine, transmission and transfer case, drive systems, steering, brakes, electrical, safety and restraint systems, HVAC, fuel, audio and emissions.
- **Not covered:** suspension parts, including control arms, ball joints, shock absorbers, struts and wheel bearings; &ldquo;This warranty does not cover batteries&rdquo;; tires and wheels; body and interior or exterior trim; maintenance and wear items such as brake pads and rotors, drive belts, hoses and wiper blades; and &ldquo;air or water leaks, wind or body noises, odors, squeaks and rattles&rdquo;.
- **A deductible:** &ldquo;$50 per repair visit after the expiration of the Cadillac bumper-to-bumper New Vehicle Limited Warranty.&rdquo;
- **Second in line:** it excluded &ldquo;Repairs already covered by the New Vehicle Limited Warranty&rdquo;, and coverage ended &ldquo;upon failure to satisfy care and service requirements as described in the New Vehicle Limited Warranty.&rdquo;
- **The next owner:** it was &ldquo;provided to the original and any subsequent owners of the vehicle during the warranty period.&rdquo;

Whether today&rsquo;s 1-year warranty keeps any of those limits, Cadillac&rsquo;s pages don&rsquo;t say. That is the main thing to settle before you sign.

**Get the current certified warranty booklet before you sign.** Ask for the document that governs the 1-year Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned Limited Warranty, and check four things in it: which parts it covers, whether there is a deductible per visit, whether it transfers if you sell, and how it treats an electric model&rsquo;s battery. If the dealer can&rsquo;t produce it, get the answers written on the buyer&rsquo;s order.

**Getting repairs.** cadillac.com&rsquo;s warranty page says &ldquo;Warranty work needs to be completed by a GM dealer&rdquo;, and that work at independent shops &ldquo;may not be eligible for reimbursement&rdquo;. There may be a diagnosis fee, &ldquo;which is reimbursed if the repair is determined to be covered by their warranty&rdquo;, and &ldquo;Rental/loaner cars vary by dealer&rdquo;. The same page lists what can void a warranty: accident, misuse or alteration; environmental or chemical damage and aftermarket products; poor maintenance; contaminated or poor-quality fuel; and impact damage such as flying debris. Keep every service receipt.

## Roadside help, loaner cars, SiriusXM, points and financing

**Roadside assistance.** The certified page promises &ldquo;24-hour roadside assistance for the life of the warranty&rdquo;. The disclosure ties it to the certified year: &ldquo;During your 1 Year/Unlimited-Mile Warranty period which begins after the expiration of the new vehicle Bumper-to-Bumper limited warranty (by time or mileage, whichever occurs first) or upon sale if Bumper-to-Bumper limited warranty is already expired. Roadside assistance provided by AAA.&rdquo; A young car also has factory roadside assistance: every gasoline-model booklet from 2020 to 2026 says it &ldquo;is provided for the duration of the Limited Powertrain Warranty Coverage&rdquo;, and cadillac.com&rsquo;s warranty page says roadside plans &ldquo;typically last for 6 years or 70,000 miles&rdquo; for 2013 and newer models.

**Courtesy transportation.** &ldquo;During the warranty coverage period, Cadillac provides alternate transportation if your Cadillac requires warranty repairs.&rdquo; Cadillac prints no daily or total amount for certified cars. Its 2026 booklet describes the factory program in the same open terms (&ldquo;Several transportation options are available. Consult your dealer or refer to the Owner&rsquo;s Manual for details.&rdquo;) and says GM can change or end it &ldquo;at any time without notification&rdquo;. Ask what you would get before a repair, not during one.

**SiriusXM.** &ldquo;All eligible SiriusXM-equipped Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned vehicles come with a three-month trial subscription.&rdquo; Service stops automatically at the end unless you continue it, and &ldquo;Trial is non-transferable.&rdquo;

**My Cadillac Rewards.** &ldquo;As a member, you can earn 6,000 points when you enroll and purchase a Certified Pre-Owned Cadillac.&rdquo; Members must be 18 or older, and points are earned and redeemed only at GM entities, participating dealers and retailers in the United States, excluding Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam. The certified page doesn&rsquo;t say what the points are worth.

**Financing.** cadillac.com posts certified finance offers through Cadillac Financial on named models, including the electric LYRIQ and OPTIQ. Offers change often, and some still shown on the certified overview page carry take-delivery dates that have already passed, so check the current offer and its end date on [Cadillac&rsquo;s certified offers page](https://www.cadillac.com/certified-pre-owned/offers) or with the dealer.

**After the certified year.** Longer cover means a paid service contract. Cadillac sells the Cadillac Protection Plan, owed by GM Protections, LLC and administered by Safe-Guard Products International, LLC; our [Cadillac extended warranty guide](https://baronauto1.com/financing/cadillac-extended-warranty/) reads its contract clause by clause. One timing rule matters to a certified buyer: Cadillac&rsquo;s plan FAQ says plans &ldquo;may be purchased after the time of vehicle sale if the vehicle is still within the manufacturer&rsquo;s limited warranty period by at least 1,000 miles or 30 days prior to expiration, whichever comes first.&rdquo; Whether the certified year counts as the manufacturer&rsquo;s limited warranty for that rule isn&rsquo;t stated, so if you want a plan, price it before the factory bumper-to-bumper term ends.

## Certified before late 2020: the old 6-year program

Older reviews describe a different Cadillac certified warranty, and they were right at the time. Cadillac&rsquo;s certified page, as the Internet Archive captured it on 19 March 2020 and again on 16 September 2020, advertised a &ldquo;6-year/100,000 mile limited warranty&rdquo;, footnoted &ldquo;From original in-service date. 6 years/100,000 miles, whichever comes first.&rdquo; By the [capture of 24 October 2020](http://web.archive.org/web/20201024055807/https://www.cadillac.com/certified-pre-owned), the same page showed the 1-year, unlimited-mile warranty. The captures date what the page showed, not the day the program changed at every dealer.

The 2017 certified booklet spells the old terms out: coverage &ldquo;for up to 6 years from the original vehicle in-service date or 100,000 miles whichever occurs first&rdquo;, effective &ldquo;upon the expiration of the new vehicle &lsquo;Bumper to Bumper&rsquo; warranty&rdquo;, with the $50 deductible per repair visit, and roadside assistance &ldquo;for a period of 6 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first.&rdquo;

**Cadillac&rsquo;s certified warranty before and after the 2020 change, from Cadillac&rsquo;s 2017 certified booklet, Internet Archive captures of cadillac.com from 2020, and cadillac.com as read on 1 October 2026.**

| Term | Old program (advertised until 2020) | Current program |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Inspection | 172 points | 172 points |
| Certified warranty | Up to 6 years from first sale or 100,000 miles | 1 year with unlimited miles |
| Starts | When the factory bumper-to-bumper warranty expires | When the factory bumper-to-bumper warranty expires, or on the sale date |
| Latest end | 6 years from first sale | 5 years from first sale, by our arithmetic |
| Mileage limit | 100,000 miles | None during the certified year |
| Deductible | $50 per repair visit | Not stated |
| Roadside assistance | 6 years or 100,000 miles | 24-hour, during the certified year, by AAA |
| Next owner | &ldquo;the original and any subsequent owners&rdquo; | Not stated for the certified warranty |

By our arithmetic, the old program has all but run out. Its 6 years ran from the original in-service date, so to be inside them on 1 October 2026 a car must have entered service after 1 October 2020, and Cadillac&rsquo;s page was already advertising the 1-year warranty by 24 October 2020. If a seller offers a Cadillac with old certified paperwork, assume no certified cover is left and have a Cadillac dealer confirm by VIN what remains of the factory warranty.

## How to confirm a Cadillac is really certified

&ldquo;Certified&rdquo; on a listing proves nothing until the paperwork says which program certified the car. Before you sign:

- **Buy it from a Cadillac dealer.** Cadillac says its certified cars &ldquo;can only be found at a Cadillac dealer&rdquo;. A certified Cadillac at a Chevrolet, Buick or GMC store is most likely a CarBravo car, and an independent lot&rsquo;s &ldquo;certified&rdquo; is its own promise.
- **Get the warranty named and dated.** The buyer&rsquo;s order should name the Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned Limited Warranty with its start and end. Cadillac&rsquo;s 2017 booklet opened with a certificate that recorded the original in-service date and the &ldquo;Cadillac CPO Limited Warranty Expiration Date&rdquo;; ask for the same facts in writing today.
- **Get the in-service date and the odometer reading at sale.** Every factory term, and the certified start date, runs from them.
- **Take the reports.** The completed 172-point inspection, the vehicle history report Cadillac lists, and the service records, all matched to the VIN.
- **Run the recall check yourself** at my.gm.com/recalls, as Cadillac suggests.
- **Check the title.** A salvage, junk or total-loss history voids the factory warranty.
- **Check the warranty status once the car is yours.** cadillac.com invites owners to sign in and &ldquo;View your vehicle&rsquo;s warranty status&rdquo;; see what it shows for the certified warranty.

We found no public Cadillac tool that confirms certified status by VIN before you buy, so the dealer&rsquo;s signed paperwork is your proof. Keep it with the car&rsquo;s records.

## Certified Cadillac, ordinary used Cadillac, new, or a protection plan

**Against an ordinary used Cadillac.** A young Cadillac keeps its factory warranty whether or not it is certified, because the factory terms belong to the car. What certification adds is the 172-point inspection, the 1-year warranty with unlimited miles at the end of the bumper-to-bumper term, roadside help and alternate transportation during that year, the SiriusXM trial and the rewards points. Cadillac prints no price for any certified vehicle, so the cost is whatever premium the dealer asks over a similar car that isn&rsquo;t certified. The year is worth most on a car whose bumper-to-bumper term is about to end or has ended, because it starts soon, and to a driver who covers a lot of miles, because it has no mileage limit.

**Against new.** A new Cadillac carries 4 years or 50,000 miles of bumper-to-bumper cover and 6 years or 70,000 miles of powertrain cover, or 8 years or 100,000 miles on an electric model&rsquo;s battery, in every booklet from 2020 to 2026. A one- or two-year-old certified Cadillac inherits what is left of those terms and adds its year at the end of the bumper-to-bumper term.

**Against a protection plan.** The certified warranty ends at most 5 years after first sale, by our arithmetic. Cover beyond that means a paid service contract such as the Cadillac Protection Plan, which our [Cadillac extended warranty guide](https://baronauto1.com/financing/cadillac-extended-warranty/) covers. Our guides to [whether an extended warranty is worth it](https://baronauto1.com/financing/is-an-extended-warranty-worth-it/) and [extended car warranty cost](https://baronauto1.com/financing/extended-car-warranty-cost/) work through that decision, and our [certified pre-owned overview](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/certified-pre-owned/) explains how carmaker programs work in general.

## Before you sign: a Cadillac certified pre-owned checklist

- **Confirm it is Cadillac&rsquo;s program.** Sold by a Cadillac dealer, with the Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned Limited Warranty named on the buyer&rsquo;s order.
- **Get the in-service date and the odometer reading.** Together they tell you when the bumper-to-bumper term ends and the certified year starts.
- **Get the certified start and end dates in writing,** because cadillac.com gives two answers.
- **Ask for the current certified warranty booklet,** and look for covered parts, any deductible and the transfer rule.
- **Check the powertrain time left.** 6 years or 70,000 miles from first sale on 2020 to 2026 gasoline models, and 3 years or 150,000 miles on a ZR3 professional vehicle.
- **On an electric model, get the battery dates by VIN.** 8 years or 100,000 miles from first sale.
- **On a 2023 Escalade-V, ask when the first owner sold it.** A transfer within 6 months of delivery voids its factory bumper-to-bumper and powertrain cover.
- **Take the 172-point inspection report and run your own recall check.**
- **Get an independent inspection anyway,** and keep every service receipt.
- **Enroll in My Cadillac Rewards when you buy** if you want the 6,000 points, and ask the dealer how they are credited.

## Common questions

### Is Cadillac certified pre-owned worth it?

It depends on the car&rsquo;s age and mileage. On a car still inside its 4-year/50,000-mile factory warranty, certification adds one year with unlimited miles after that warranty ends, at most 5 years from first sale by our arithmetic, plus the inspection, roadside help and the trials. On a car whose factory warranty has ended, the year starts the day you buy. Compare the certified premium with the cover left on that VIN, and remember that Cadillac doesn&rsquo;t publish the current warranty&rsquo;s exclusions or deductible.

### What does the Cadillac CPO warranty cover?

Cadillac describes it only as a 1-year/unlimited-mile &ldquo;limited warranty&rdquo; and publishes no list of covered parts or exclusions. The 2017 Cadillac certified booklet, for the old program, listed engine, transmission, drive system, steering, brake, electrical, restraint, HVAC, fuel, audio and emissions components; excluded suspension parts, batteries, tires and wheels; and charged $50 per repair visit. Ask the dealer for the current booklet.

### How long is the Cadillac certified pre-owned warranty?

One year with unlimited miles, starting when the factory 4-year/50,000-mile bumper-to-bumper warranty ends, or on the sale date if it already has. Cadillac calls this &ldquo;up to 5 years of coverage&rdquo;; a car that reaches 50,000 miles before its fourth anniversary gets less. Until 2020, Cadillac advertised up to 6 years or 100,000 miles.

### When does the Cadillac CPO warranty start?

The certified page&rsquo;s disclosures say it begins upon expiration of the original bumper-to-bumper warranty, or &ldquo;upon sale&rdquo; if that warranty has already expired. cadillac.com&rsquo;s warranty page says certified vehicles get &ldquo;a limited warranty that activates at the time of purchase/lease&rdquo;, so have the dealer write the start and end dates on your paperwork.

### Is the Cadillac certified warranty transferable?

Cadillac&rsquo;s certified page doesn&rsquo;t say. Its warranty page says &ldquo;Those limited warranties that are still active will transfer to the new owner&rdquo;, and the old 2017 certified booklet covered &ldquo;the original and any subsequent owners&rdquo;. The SiriusXM trial is non-transferable. Get the transfer rule from the current booklet.

### What are the requirements for a Cadillac to be certified?

Cadillac says each car undergoes its 172-point inspection to meet its &ldquo;stringent mechanical and appearance benchmarks&rdquo;, must have any needed recall repairs done first, and is sold only by a Cadillac dealer. It publishes no age or mileage limit, so limits quoted on other sites are not Cadillac&rsquo;s word. A salvage or total-loss title voids the factory warranty.

## Sources and further reading

- [FTC: a businessperson’s guide to federal warranty law](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/businesspersons-guide-federal-warranty-law)
- [15 U.S.C. § 2301 (Magnuson-Moss definitions)](https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/15/2301)
- [FTC: auto service contracts and warranties](https://consumer.ftc.gov/articles/auto-warranties-and-auto-service-contracts)

Recall, complaint and safety-rating figures on this page were retrieved from the federal databases above on August 19, 2026. Federal data changes — re-check any VIN before you rely on it.

---

*This site is under new ownership and is not affiliated with Baron Auto Emporium dealership.*

Canonical source: https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/cadillac-certified-pre-owned/
