---
title: "Mazda Certified Pre-Owned: What the Warranty Really Covers"
description: "Mazda certified pre-owned from Mazda's own terms: when the 7-year/100,000-mile powertrain clock starts, the 12-month warranty, the 160-point claim and gaps."
url: "https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/mazda-certified-pre-owned/"
type: "article"
published: "2026-09-30"
modified: "2026-09-30"
site: "Baron Auto"
disclaimer: "This site is under new ownership and is not affiliated with Baron Auto Emporium dealership."
---

# Mazda Certified Pre-Owned: What the Warranty Really Covers

> Mazda certified pre-owned from Mazda's own terms: when the 7-year/100,000-mile powertrain clock starts, the 12-month warranty, the 160-point claim and gaps.

*Used Car Buying · 21 min read · 4,832 words*

## The short version

- Mazda runs one certified program, Mazda Certified Pre-Owned, with no tiers. Mazda says every car passes a 160-point inspection by a factory-trained Mazda technician.
- The 7-year or 100,000-mile CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty counts from the day the car was first sold new, not the day you buy it, and ends at whichever limit comes first. A car bought with 80,000 miles has at most 20,000 miles of it left, by our arithmetic.
- The 12-month or 12,000-mile CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty takes effect on the day you buy if the car&rsquo;s 3-year or 36,000-mile new-car warranty has already ended. Mazda&rsquo;s page says it gives &ldquo;another&rdquo; 12 months or 12,000 miles to a car still under that warranty, but doesn&rsquo;t spell out when that clock starts.
- Covered repairs carry a $0 deductible, roadside assistance runs as long as the powertrain warranty, and both CPO warranties transfer to the next owner at no cost.
- No Mazda page we read gives an age or mileage limit for certification, and Mazda doesn&rsquo;t publish the CPO warranty document online. Ask the dealer for it before you sign.
- Mazda&rsquo;s own pages disagree on the inspection count (160 or 150) and on the history report (CARFAX with a one-year or three-year buyback, or AutoCheck). Go by what the paperwork for your car says.

A Mazda certified pre-owned car is a used Mazda that a Mazda dealer has put through Mazda&rsquo;s inspection and sold with two Mazda warranties: a 12-month or 12,000-mile CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty and a 7-year or 100,000-mile CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty, each ending at whichever limit comes first. The detail that matters most is the powertrain clock. It started when the car was first sold new, so the older and higher-mileage the car, the less of it you get. This guide is built from Mazda&rsquo;s certified pre-owned page, its resource-center article on CPO, its owners warranty and recall pages, its 2023 warranty booklet and three older Mazda CPO documents, all read on 30 September 2026.

**Figure: The odometer on the day you buy sets how much Mazda powertrain cover is left**

Horizontal bars of the most CPO powertrain-warranty miles a Mazda Certified Pre-Owned car can have left, by odometer reading at purchase. The warranty ends 7 years from the original new-car sale or at 100,000 miles, whichever comes first.

Most CPO powertrain-warranty miles left at purchase. Mazda's term ends 7 years from when the car was originally purchased as new or at 100,000 miles, whichever comes first, so time can end it sooner than these miles. Terms from Mazda's certified pre-owned page, read 30 September 2026; the subtraction is our arithmetic.

## One program, no tiers

Some carmakers sell two or three levels of certified car under one badge. Mazda doesn&rsquo;t. Its [certified pre-owned page](https://www.mazdausa.com/certified-pre-owned) describes a single program, the Mazda Certified Pre-Owned Vehicles program, and every car sold under it gets the same package. The page lists these benefits:

- a 12-month or 12,000-mile CPO Vehicle Limited Warranty;
- a 7-year or 100,000-mile CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty;
- zero deductible on covered repairs;
- 24-hour emergency roadside assistance;
- a 160-point detailed inspection;
- a CARFAX vehicle history report with a buyback guarantee from CARFAX;
- warranties that transfer to future owners at no cost;
- a 3-month SiriusXM trial on select cars with satellite radio;
- a College Graduate Finance Program and certified financing offers, covered below.

Because there are no tiers, you don&rsquo;t have to work out which level a car is sold under. The work is somewhere else: working out how much of each warranty a particular car still has. Two cars with the same badge on the windshield can carry very different amounts of cover, because the powertrain warranty is measured from the car&rsquo;s first sale.

The warranties come from Mazda, not from the dealer and not from a third-party service contract company. Mazda&rsquo;s page tells buyers to &ldquo;See your Mazda Dealer for Limited Warranty details.&rdquo; That matters later in this guide, because the full CPO warranty terms, including the list of parts and exclusions, are not published anywhere online that we could find.

## Which Mazdas can be certified

This is where Mazda says less than most buyers expect. The certified pre-owned page says &ldquo;Only the best-maintained late-model vehicles make the Mazda Certified Pre-Owned (CPO) vehicle cut&rdquo; and that to be eligible, they &ldquo;must pass a rigorous 160-point inspection.&rdquo; It doesn&rsquo;t give a model-year cutoff or a mileage ceiling. Neither do the resource-center article, the owners warranty page or the Mazda Financial Services FAQ.

You&rsquo;ll see a specific age and mileage limit on dealer sites and car-shopping guides. We didn&rsquo;t use those figures, because none of them came from a Mazda page we could read. The nearest Mazda sentence is in its [resource-center article on what certified pre-owned means](https://www.mazdausa.com/resource-center/what-does-certified-pre-owned-mean). It says CPO cars in general &ldquo;are typically 6 years old or less.&rdquo; That line is about certified cars as a category, not a Mazda rule, so treat it as a rough guide, not a limit.

Two other Mazda statements shape which cars qualify:

- **No serious collisions.** The resource article says CPO vehicles &ldquo;can&rsquo;t be certified if they&rsquo;ve been in a serious collision.&rdquo; It doesn&rsquo;t define &ldquo;serious&rdquo;, so a car with a minor repair on its history report may still be certified. A car with a salvage or rebuilt brand is a different matter; see [what a salvage title means](https://baronauto1.com/vehicle-history/what-is-a-salvage-title/).
- **The powertrain clock sets a practical limit.** The CPO powertrain warranty ends 7 years after the first sale or at 100,000 miles, whichever comes first. A car past either point would have no powertrain cover left, so the warranty itself caps how old and worn a certified car can usefully be, even though Mazda prints no formal cutoff.

The table below turns the second point into numbers. It shows the most powertrain time a car can have left, by how long ago it was first sold. This is our arithmetic, 7 minus the car&rsquo;s age. The 100,000-mile limit can end the cover sooner.

**Most CPO powertrain warranty time left at purchase, by years since the car was first sold new. Our arithmetic from Mazda&rsquo;s 7-year, 100,000-mile term, whichever comes first; read 30 September 2026.**

| Years since first sold new | Powertrain time left, at most |
| --- | --- |
| 1 | 6 years |
| 2 | 5 years |
| 3 | 4 years |
| 4 | 3 years |
| 5 | 2 years |
| 6 | 1 year |

## When each warranty clock starts

A Mazda certified car can be covered by up to three warranties at once, and each has its own start point. Mazda&rsquo;s page words them this way.

**The new-car remainder.** &ldquo;Each Mazda Certified Pre-Owned vehicle is covered by any remaining portion of its original 3-year/36,000-mile New Vehicle Limited Warranty.&rdquo; Mazda&rsquo;s [owners warranty page](https://www.mazdausa.com/owners/warranty) gives that term as 36 months or 36,000 miles, whichever comes first. Mazda&rsquo;s 2023 warranty booklet starts it on the &ldquo;Date of First Service&rdquo;, which it defines as the first date the car &ldquo;is delivered to the first retail purchaser, is leased or is placed into service as a company vehicle use (e.g., as a demonstrator, rental or fleet vehicle), whichever is earliest.&rdquo; A former rental or demonstrator may therefore have started its clock before any private owner had it.

**The CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty, 12 months or 12,000 miles.** Mazda&rsquo;s page says it &ldquo;provides coverage for another 12-Months or up to 12,000-Miles, with no deductible on covered repairs,&rdquo; and that for cars &ldquo;no longer covered by the New Vehicle Limited Warranty, the CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty takes effect at time of purchase.&rdquo; The footnote adds &ldquo;Whichever comes first.&rdquo; For a car whose new-car warranty has ended, that is clear: the clock starts the day you buy. For a car still inside its new-car warranty, the page doesn&rsquo;t say in so many words when the 12 months start. &ldquo;Another&rdquo; suggests they follow the new-car term. Mazda&rsquo;s 2012 CPO brochure said something different: &ldquo;Coverage begins on the certified purchase date for 12 months/12,000 miles, whichever comes first.&rdquo; If you&rsquo;re buying a young car, ask the dealer to write the start and end of this warranty on your paperwork.

**The CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty, 7 years or 100,000 miles.** The footnote reads: &ldquo;Whichever comes first from when the vehicle was originally purchased as new.&rdquo; The 2012 brochure said the same thing another way: &ldquo;Coverage begins from the original retail sales date.&rdquo; This is the clock most buyers get wrong. It does not restart when you buy the car. The 100,000 miles count from the first sale too, so in practice they are the miles on the odometer, not miles after purchase.

**The warranties on a Mazda certified car, where each starts and where each ends, as Mazda&rsquo;s pages word them on 30 September 2026. Each ends at whichever limit comes first.**

| Coverage | Starts | Ends | Mazda source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| New Vehicle Limited Warranty (remainder) | Date of First Service | 36 months or 36,000 miles | Owners warranty page; 2023 booklet |
| New-car Powertrain Limited Warranty (remainder) | Date of First Service | 60 months or 60,000 miles | Owners warranty page; 2023 booklet |
| CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty | On purchase, if the new-car warranty has ended; otherwise not stated in those words | 12 months or 12,000 miles | Certified pre-owned page |
| CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty | When the car was originally purchased as new | 7 years or 100,000 miles | Certified pre-owned page, footnote |
| 24-hour Emergency Roadside Assistance | With the CPO powertrain warranty | For the duration of the 7-year, 100,000-mile powertrain warranty | Certified pre-owned page |

Against the new-car terms, by our arithmetic, the CPO powertrain warranty reaches up to 2 years or 40,000 miles past the new-car powertrain warranty of 5 years or 60,000 miles. Roadside assistance reaches up to 4 years or 64,000 miles past the new-car roadside program of 3 years or 36,000 miles. &ldquo;Up to&rdquo; is the right phrase: a car that hits 100,000 miles in year five gets no extra time at all.

If the &ldquo;another 12 months&rdquo; wording does mean the CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty follows the new-car warranty, the latest it could run is 48 months or 48,000 miles from the first sale, by our arithmetic (36 plus 12). Mazda doesn&rsquo;t print that figure, so don&rsquo;t count on it until you see it on the car&rsquo;s paperwork.

## Two certified Mazdas, worked through

These two cars are made up to show how the dates fall. They aren&rsquo;t listings. Both are bought on 30 September 2026, and every date below still gives way to the mileage limit if that comes first.

**Car A: first sold 15 June 2022, bought certified with 52,000 miles.** Its new-car warranty ended on 15 June 2025, so the CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty takes effect at purchase and runs until 30 September 2027 or until the odometer reads 64,000, whichever comes first. The powertrain warranty ends on 15 June 2029 or at 100,000 miles on the odometer. That leaves at most 48,000 miles of powertrain cover, by our arithmetic. If the owner drives a lot, the mileage will run out first.

**Car B: first sold 1 March 2025, bought certified with 18,000 miles.** Its new-car warranty is still running and ends on 1 March 2028 or at 36,000 miles. If the CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty follows it, as &ldquo;another&rdquo; suggests, it would end on 1 March 2029 or at 48,000 miles. If it starts at purchase, as the 2012 brochure described, it would end inside the new-car term. That is why this buyer should get the start and end written down. The powertrain warranty ends on 1 March 2032 or at 100,000 miles.

The chart at the top of this page shows the same idea across the mileage range. A car bought at 20,000 miles has up to 80,000 miles of powertrain cover left. At 60,000 miles it has up to 40,000. At 90,000 miles it has up to 10,000, and the 7-year limit may end it sooner.

## The inspection: 160 points, and the only list Mazda publishes

Mazda says &ldquo;Each vehicle is required to endure an uncompromising 160-point inspection inside and out, performed by a factory-trained Mazda technician.&rdquo; The page shows six &ldquo;inspection highlights&rdquo; and, for five of them, the size of the section each belongs to:

- A/C and heating: confirm the A/C system is operating properly;
- Interior: seats and headrests work properly in all positions (1 of 6 checkpoints);
- Brakes: ABS works properly on hard stops (1 of 8 checkpoints);
- Transmission: shift quality and shift points (1 of 8 checkpoints);
- Exterior: windshield free of cracks, large chips and improper repairs (1 of 14 checkpoints);
- Engine: smooth acceleration (1 of 7 checkpoints).

Mazda doesn&rsquo;t publish the full 160-point list. What it still hosts is an older form: the [Mazda Certified Pre-owned 150-Point Vehicle Inspection](https://portal.mazdausa.com/m176/MusaWeb/musa2/pdf/cpo/cpo_150-point_veh_insp_summary.pdf), marked &ldquo;Rev. 7/08&rdquo;. It is the only item-by-item list Mazda has put online. It is out of date, and today&rsquo;s count is 10 points higher, by our arithmetic. Mazda doesn&rsquo;t say which checks were added. The old form still shows how the inspection is organised. The five section sizes printed on today&rsquo;s page (6, 8, 8, 14 and 7) are exactly the sizes of the matching sections on the 2008 form.

**Sections of Mazda&rsquo;s 150-point CPO inspection form (Rev. 7/08), with item counts worked out from the printed item numbers. Our count comes to 150 across 17 sections, matching the form&rsquo;s title. Today&rsquo;s inspection is 160 points and its full list is not published.**

| Section | Items | Examples from the form |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Manuals and documentation | 6 | VIN plates match under hood, dash and door pillar; vehicle service history checked |
| Recalls | 2 | Required recalls listed as performed |
| Test drive: engine, transmission, brakes, steering, other | 39 | Smooth acceleration; shift quality; ABS on hard stops; wheel bearing noise |
| Under the hood | 12 | Stored trouble codes; oil leaks; water in the engine oil |
| Engine coolant, A/C and heating | 10 | Pressure test of the cooling system; A/C cooling |
| Battery | 5 | Correct specification, secured, charge level |
| Tires, brakes and suspension (on a hoist) | 15 | Tread depth; matching tires; pad wear; engine oil and filter replaced |
| Drive train | 3 | Transmission leaks; drive and axle shaft damage |
| Frame and underbody | 7 | Frame or unibody damage; rust; fuel lines |
| Body electronics | 15 | Power windows, locks, keyless remote |
| Interior and exterior lighting | 16 | Headlights and aim; air bag and check engine lights |
| Vehicle exterior | 14 | Windshield; no evidence of mismatched paint |
| Vehicle interior | 6 | Seats and headrests; seatbelts lock up per specification |

Several items on the 2008 form are worth knowing because you can check them yourself. The test drive runs 10 to 15 minutes. Tires must have &ldquo;minimum 5/32 inch or 50% tread remaining&rdquo;, and &ldquo;All four tires must be of same brand, model, and size.&rdquo; Disc brake pads are replaced &ldquo;if wear is greater than 50%&rdquo;. The engine oil and filter are replaced. The form ends with the technician certifying that &ldquo;all outstanding recall work required on this vehicle has been completed in accordance with Mazda&rsquo;s requirements&rdquo;, plus the technician&rsquo;s name and signature, the dealership and the date. We don&rsquo;t know whether today&rsquo;s 160-point form keeps these thresholds. Ask the dealer for the completed inspection form for the car you&rsquo;re looking at.

**Figure: Annotated photograph**

Two numbered callouts over the photograph mark the seat and its upholstery, with what Mazda's inspection and warranty documents say.

Mazda's certified inspection checks that seats and headrests work in every position, one of 6 interior checkpoints its current page describes (callout 1). Mazda publishes no list of what its certified warranty excludes; its new-car warranty booklet excludes cosmetic conditions, and the dealer's paperwork is where the certified terms are set out (callout 2).

A dealer inspection is still a dealer inspection. The dealer doing it is the one selling the car. Mazda&rsquo;s own resource article tells buyers to take &ldquo;proactive steps, such as obtaining a CARFAX report, conducting a thorough inspection, and test-driving the vehicle.&rdquo; An independent check costs little next to the price of the car; see our guide to a [used-car pre-purchase inspection](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/used-car-pre-purchase-inspection/).

## What the CPO warranties cover

Mazda describes the powertrain warranty&rsquo;s reach in one line: &ldquo;Flywheel to freeze plug, thermostat to turbocharger, cylinder block to constant velocity joints, our 7-Year/100,000-Mile CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty has you covered.&rdquo; That names the ends of the range, not a parts list. The new-car Powertrain Limited Warranty in Mazda&rsquo;s 2023 booklet gives its general list as &ldquo;Engine&rdquo;, &ldquo;Transmission and Transaxle&rdquo; and &ldquo;Front /Rear Drive System&rdquo;. That is the new-car warranty, not the CPO one. It shows how Mazda groups powertrain parts, but it doesn&rsquo;t prove the CPO list is the same.

For the 12-month or 12,000-mile CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty, Mazda&rsquo;s pages give the length and the $0 deductible but no list of covered parts. The name suggests broader cover than the powertrain warranty. The CPO warranty document is what decides, and Mazda points buyers to the dealer for it.

On cost, Mazda&rsquo;s wording is plain: &ldquo;In the rare event that a covered part needs to be repaired or replaced, your total out-of-pocket cost will be zero at Mazda Dealers throughout the United States.&rdquo; Two conditions are built into that sentence. The part has to be covered, and the repair has to be done at a Mazda dealer.

## What certified doesn&rsquo;t cover

Mazda doesn&rsquo;t publish the exclusions of its CPO warranties. The closest published list is the &ldquo;What Is Not Covered&rdquo; section of the 2023 new-vehicle warranty booklet. The booklet applies it to both the New Vehicle Limited Warranty and the Powertrain Limited Warranty. It shows how Mazda writes its warranties, but it is the new-car wording, not the CPO document. It excludes, among other things:

- misuse, &ldquo;such as driving over curbs, overloading, racing, snowplowing&rdquo;;
- accidents &ldquo;such as collision, fire, flood, theft, riot&rdquo;;
- &ldquo;Alteration, modification, tampering&rdquo;;
- a vehicle &ldquo;classified a total loss and/or sold for salvage purposes or branded for any other reasons&rdquo;;
- lack of the maintenance described in the Owner&rsquo;s Manual;
- normal maintenance and wear items, including oil, fluids, filters, wiper blades, &ldquo;worn brake and clutch linings, spark plugs, fuses&rdquo; and keyless transmitter batteries;
- any car &ldquo;on which the odometer has been altered or on which the actual mileage cannot be readily determined&rdquo;;
- financial loss such as loss of use, lodging and travel costs;
- tires, which &ldquo;are warranted by the tire manufacturers.&rdquo;

**Keep every service receipt.** Mazda&rsquo;s owners warranty page says &ldquo;Mazda warranty coverage is based on following recommended factory maintenance,&rdquo; and the 2023 booklet says owners &ldquo;must keep your maintenance records, receipts, repair orders and any other documents as evidence that maintenance was performed,&rdquo; to be shown &ldquo;should any warranty coverage disagreement occur.&rdquo; A certified car is still a used car. Get the service history from before you owned it too, because a claim late in the powertrain term can depend on it.

Also outside the certified package: wear parts as they wear, cosmetic condition after purchase, and anything a paid service contract would cover. The older portal.mazdausa.com page offered extra protection as a separately bought &ldquo;TotalCare&reg; Mazda Extended Protection Plan&rdquo;. Today&rsquo;s certified page doesn&rsquo;t mention one. If a dealer offers a service contract on a certified car, read [whether an extended warranty is worth it](https://baronauto1.com/financing/is-an-extended-warranty-worth-it/) and [what extended car warranties cost](https://baronauto1.com/financing/extended-car-warranty-cost/) before you agree.

## Roadside assistance, the history report and the extras

**Roadside assistance.** Mazda says certified buyers &ldquo;and qualified family members are covered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by the complimentary Mazda 24-hour Emergency Roadside Assistance Program,&rdquo; for &ldquo;the duration of the 7-Year/100,000-Mile CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty in the U.S. and Canada.&rdquo; It lists five services: jump starts, lockout assistance, flat tire changes, towing to the nearest authorized Mazda dealership, and gas delivery. Because it runs with the powertrain warranty, it uses the same clock, counted from the first sale.

**The vehicle history report.** Mazda&rsquo;s pages don&rsquo;t agree here:

- The certified pre-owned page says each car comes with a CARFAX&reg; Vehicle History Report&trade; &ldquo;and one-year Buyback Guarantee&trade; from CARFAX&reg;&rdquo;, &ldquo;Subject to all terms and conditions&rdquo; of that guarantee.
- The resource-center article says a CARFAX report &ldquo;and three-year Buyback Protection from CARFAX&rdquo;.
- The older portal page, still online, says &ldquo;a full AutoCheck&reg; vehicle history report and a three-year Buyback Protection from Experian&reg;&rdquo;. The 2012 brochure also names AutoCheck.

The program page is the current description of the benefit, so a CARFAX report with a one-year guarantee is the likeliest reading. The report you&rsquo;re handed is what counts. Check its provider and the guarantee terms printed on it.

**SiriusXM.** &ldquo;Select satellite radio–equipped Mazda Certified Pre-Owned Vehicles feature a 3-month trial subscription to the SiriusXM All Access package,&rdquo; which Mazda says has over 150 channels. The footnote warns that if you keep the service after the trial, the plan &ldquo;will automatically renew thereafter&rdquo; and you are charged at then-current rates.

**Financing.** Mazda posts certified financing offers on the program page, and they change. The one posted on the day we read it had a printed end date of 30 September 2026, the same day. If a dealer quotes a certified rate, check the offer&rsquo;s end date and the models it names. Offers run through Mazda Financial Services, and Mazda&rsquo;s page says approval is by TMCC or M1F. Mazda also runs a College Graduate Finance Program. Its brochure says it is available on &ldquo;eligible finance of contracts for Certified Pre-Owned (CPO) Mazda vehicles&rdquo;, finance only for certified cars, and that &ldquo;Certain term restrictions apply for the financing of CPO Mazda vehicles.&rdquo;

## Transfer, deductible and where repairs happen

Mazda says &ldquo;the Mazda Certified Pre-Owned Limited Vehicle and Limited Powertrain warranties are transferable to future owners at no cost.&rdquo; The resource article repeats it: &ldquo;Both warranties are transferable to the vehicle&rsquo;s next owner at no cost.&rdquo; If you sell privately while the powertrain warranty is still running, the remaining time and miles go with the car. The clock doesn&rsquo;t reset for the next owner either.

The deductible is $0 on covered repairs &ldquo;at Mazda Dealers throughout the United States.&rdquo; Roadside assistance covers the U.S. and Canada. Mazda&rsquo;s pages don&rsquo;t say whether an independent shop can do covered CPO repairs, and the wording points to Mazda dealers. Plan on a Mazda dealer for any warranty claim.

Mazda&rsquo;s pages don&rsquo;t describe a program-wide exchange or return period for certified cars. The resource article leaves that to the dealer: &ldquo;it&rsquo;s important to understand the dealership&rsquo;s return policy before buying the vehicle.&rdquo; Ask, and get any promise in writing.

## How to confirm a Mazda is really certified

Mazda&rsquo;s resource article warns: &ldquo;Some dealerships may call their cars CPO even though they are not associated with a manufacturer. You&rsquo;ll want to check that the CPOs you&rsquo;re interested in are manufacturer-backed.&rdquo; A used-car lot can put &ldquo;certified&rdquo; on anything. These checks separate a Mazda-backed car from a dealer&rsquo;s own label:

- **Seller.** Mazda&rsquo;s own inventory search on mazdausa.com has a Certified Pre-Owned filter. If the car is sold by a non-Mazda dealer, ask who backs the warranty; Mazda&rsquo;s $0 deductible applies to covered repairs at Mazda dealers.
- **Warranty paperwork.** Ask for the CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty and CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty terms in writing, with the start and end date and mileage of each. Mazda says the details come from the dealer, so a dealer that can&rsquo;t produce them is a warning sign.
- **Inspection form.** Ask for the completed, signed inspection form for this VIN, not a sample.
- **VIN.** Check that the VIN on the paperwork matches the car. The 2008 form had the technician confirm the VIN plates match under the hood, on the dash and on the door pillar; you can look too. For what the characters mean, see our [Mazda VIN decoder](https://baronauto1.com/vehicle-history/mazda-vin-decoder/).
- **Recalls.** Mazda&rsquo;s [recall lookup](https://www.mazdausa.com/owners/recalls) takes the 17-character VIN and shows &ldquo;any open recalls on your vehicle&rdquo;. Mazda says &ldquo;All safety recall repairs are made free of charge.&rdquo; An open recall on a car sold as certified is a question for the dealer.
- **History report.** Read it for accidents, title brands and odometer entries, and note which company issued it and what buyback terms it carries.

## Certified, ordinary used, or new

The certified package is worth most on a car with little factory cover left and enough years and miles still inside the 7-year, 100,000-mile window. Mazda&rsquo;s resource article is frank about the trade-offs. Certified cars &ldquo;generally come with a higher price tag,&rdquo; and &ldquo;Prices aren&rsquo;t set in stone, so buyers still must research the value of the vehicle they&rsquo;re looking to buy to negotiate the overall price of the CPO vehicle.&rdquo; Mazda prints no prices for certified cars, and neither do we.

**What each route gets you, from Mazda&rsquo;s published terms read on 30 September 2026. Each warranty ends at whichever limit comes first.**

|  | Mazda Certified Pre-Owned | Ordinary used Mazda | New Mazda |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Powertrain cover | 7 years or 100,000 miles from the first sale | Whatever is left of 5 years or 60,000 miles | 5 years or 60,000 miles |
| Broader cover | New-car remainder, plus 12 months or 12,000 miles of CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty | Whatever is left of 3 years or 36,000 miles | 3 years or 36,000 miles |
| Roadside | For the length of the CPO powertrain warranty | Whatever is left of 3 years or 36,000 miles | 3 years or 36,000 miles |
| Inspection | 160 points by a factory-trained Mazda technician | None required | Not applicable |
| Deductible on covered repairs | $0 | Depends on the warranty left | Not stated on the pages read |
| History report | Included (provider varies by Mazda page) | Buy your own | Not applicable |

For more on how certified programs compare across brands, and when one is worth paying extra for, see our general guide to [certified pre-owned cars](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/certified-pre-owned/).

## Before you sign for a certified Mazda

- **Get the first-sale date.** Both the powertrain warranty and roadside assistance count from it. Subtract the car&rsquo;s age from 7 years and its odometer from 100,000 miles to see the most you can get.
- **Get both CPO warranties in writing.** Start date, end date and end mileage for each, especially the 12-month or 12,000-mile warranty on a car still under its new-car warranty.
- **Ask for the completed inspection form.** For this VIN, signed and dated, with any reconditioning noted.
- **Run the VIN through Mazda&rsquo;s recall lookup.** Open recalls are fixed free, and should be done before you take delivery.
- **Read the history report.** Note who issued it and what buyback terms it carries; Mazda&rsquo;s pages name CARFAX and AutoCheck and both one-year and three-year terms.
- **Check tires and brakes yourself.** Four matching tires and good tread were part of Mazda&rsquo;s 2008 standard; see whether this car meets it.
- **Collect the service records.** Mazda ties warranty coverage to factory maintenance, and a claim can turn on them.
- **Ask about returns.** Mazda leaves return policy to the dealer. Get any promise in writing.
- **Check any certified financing offer&rsquo;s end date.** They change often.

## Common questions

### Is Mazda certified pre-owned worth it?

It is worth most on a car whose new-car warranty has ended or is about to, and which still has plenty of the 7-year, 100,000-mile powertrain window left. On such a car, certification adds a year of broader cover from the day you buy, up to 2 years or 40,000 miles of powertrain cover beyond the new-car term, roadside assistance for the same period and a $0 deductible. On a car near 100,000 miles or 7 years from its first sale, there is little left, and the price premium buys less.

### What does the Mazda CPO warranty cover?

Two warranties. The 12-month or 12,000-mile CPO Limited Vehicle Warranty, with no deductible on covered repairs, and the 7-year or 100,000-mile CPO Limited Powertrain Warranty, which Mazda describes as running from &ldquo;flywheel to freeze plug, thermostat to turbocharger, cylinder block to constant velocity joints.&rdquo; Mazda doesn&rsquo;t publish the full parts list or exclusions online. Get them from the dealer.

### When does the Mazda CPO powertrain warranty start?

When the car was first sold new. Mazda&rsquo;s footnote says the term runs &ldquo;from when the vehicle was originally purchased as new&rdquo;, whichever of 7 years or 100,000 miles comes first. It does not restart when you buy a certified car.

### How old can a Mazda be to get certified?

Mazda doesn&rsquo;t publish a limit on any page we read. It says only &ldquo;late-model vehicles&rdquo; qualify, and its resource article says certified cars in general are &ldquo;typically 6 years old or less.&rdquo; In practice, the powertrain warranty ends 7 years after the first sale, so an older car would have no powertrain cover left.

### Is the Mazda CPO warranty transferable?

Yes. Mazda says both the CPO Limited Vehicle and CPO Limited Powertrain warranties transfer to future owners at no cost. The next owner gets whatever time and miles remain.

### Is it a 160-point or 150-point inspection?

Mazda&rsquo;s current certified pre-owned page, its resource article and Mazda Financial Services all say 160 points. The 150-point figure comes from older Mazda material that is still online: a portal.mazdausa.com page, a 2012 brochure and the 2008 inspection form. Mazda hasn&rsquo;t published the 160-point list.

## Sources and further reading

- [FTC: a businessperson’s guide to federal warranty law](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/businesspersons-guide-federal-warranty-law)
- [15 U.S.C. § 2301 (Magnuson-Moss definitions)](https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/15/2301)
- [FTC: auto service contracts and warranties](https://consumer.ftc.gov/articles/auto-warranties-and-auto-service-contracts)

Recall, complaint and safety-rating figures on this page were retrieved from the federal databases above on August 19, 2026. Federal data changes — re-check any VIN before you rely on it.

---

*This site is under new ownership and is not affiliated with Baron Auto Emporium dealership.*

Canonical source: https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/mazda-certified-pre-owned/
