---
title: "Brake Check (Now Brake and Tire Check): Lifetime Pads, Owner"
description: "Brake Check is now Brake and Tire Check. Its lifetime warranty covers Opteve pads while you own the car, but you pay labor per axle. Terms, prices, owner."
url: "https://baronauto1.com/car-care/brake-check/"
type: "article"
published: "2026-10-16"
modified: "2026-10-16"
site: "Baron Auto"
disclaimer: "This site is under new ownership and is not affiliated with Baron Auto Emporium dealership."
---

# Brake Check (Now Brake and Tire Check): Lifetime Pads, Owner

> Brake Check is now Brake and Tire Check. Its lifetime warranty covers Opteve pads while you own the car, but you pay labor per axle. Terms, prices, owner.

*Detailing & Maintenance · 21 min read · 4,818 words*

## The short version

- Brake Check now calls itself Brake and Tire Check. Its About page says it &ldquo;Rebranded to Brake and Tire Check&rdquo; in 2025-26 after adding tires in 2023, under &ldquo;Same ownership,&rdquo; and brakecheck.com now forwards to the new site.
- Its Terms of Use name the owner as Peveto Companies, Ltd., and a Texas state record lists that company as owner of one of its shops. Its own store list shows 58 open stores, all in Texas.
- The Lifetime Brakes Warranty covers Opteve brand pads or shoes &ldquo;for as long as you own your vehicle,&rdquo; but you pay &ldquo;a labor charge per axle&rdquo; each time. Commercial vehicles, 1-ton trucks and high-performance vehicles are excluded.
- Other new parts get 90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first, in full only if you had all the recommended work done; otherwise you pay the labor on a warranty replacement.
- The brake inspection is free and takes about 30 minutes. Printed standing prices: pads from $79.88 for cars and $99.88 for trucks or SUVs, labor at $120 an hour. It installs only parts it sells.
- Financing is a Synchrony Car Care card with deferred interest (34.99% purchase APR for new accounts as of 7/31/25) or Synchrony Pay Later. No page lists a Texas state inspection.

If you searched for Brake Check, the Texas chain has a new name, Brake and Tire Check, and every page still says &ldquo;Formerly Brake Check.&rdquo; Its brake pad warranty is a lifetime one with conditions: it covers its own Opteve pads, it charges labor for each replacement, and it excludes some vehicles. On 16 October 2026 we read the [brake warranty page](https://brakeandtirecheck.com/brakes/brake-warranty/), the brakes, financing, parts policy, tire, alignment, oil change, About and contact pages, four store pages, its Terms of Use and privacy policy, three Texas state building records and the TxDMV registration page. This site has no commercial relationship with Brake and Tire Check or any repair chain. If you meant checking your own brakes, see our guides to [worn brake pad symptoms](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/symptoms-of-a-bad-brake-pads/) and [brake pad replacement cost](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/brake-pad-replacement-cost/).

**Figure: What Brake and Tire Check's pages say, by situation**

Nine situations a Brake and Tire Check (formerly Brake Check) customer meets, each matched to the wording of its brake warranty, brakes, parts, financing and store pages, plus TxDMV's inspection rule.

Read from brakeandtirecheck.com (brake warranty, brakes, Parts & Installation Policy, financing and store pages) on 16 October 2026; Texas rule from TxDMV, re-checked the same day.

## Who owns Brake Check, and why it became Brake and Tire Check

The About page says founder John Peveto Jr. &ldquo;got his start in the restaurant business,&rdquo; and &ldquo;In 1968, he took over a struggling brake shop in San Antonio,&rdquo; offering &ldquo;free inspections (long before it was common).&rdquo; That was 58 years ago by our arithmetic. Its timeline runs from the 1970s, when it &ldquo;Acquired and rebranded multiple locations under the name Brake Check,&rdquo; through expansion into Austin, Corpus Christi and Houston, oil changes in 2007, its own Opteve parts line in the 2010s and digital inspections in 2020, to &ldquo;2023: Added tires as a core service&rdquo; and &ldquo;2025-26: Rebranded to Brake and Tire Check.&rdquo;

Asked &ldquo;Why the Name Change?&rdquo;, the page answers with tires: it has always done alignments, and &ldquo;Now, we can also help you choose and replace them.&rdquo; It adds &ldquo;Same ownership. Same commitment to doing it right.&rdquo; On 16 October 2026 brakecheck.com answered with a permanent redirect to brakeandtirecheck.com, while the www version of the old address showed an expired security certificate, so type the new address if your browser warns you.

**The owner on paper.** The Terms of Use govern sites &ldquo;owned and/or operated by Peveto Companies, Ltd. and Brake and Tire Check,&rdquo; and every footer reads &ldquo;&copy; 2026 Peveto Companies Ltd.&rdquo; A public record agrees. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation&rsquo;s accessibility register holds project TABS2024001944, registered 9/28/2023, for &ldquo;Brake Check Palm Valley&rdquo; in Round Rock, a building with 6 service bays, owner &ldquo;Peveto Companies, LTD&rdquo;; that shop is on the company&rsquo;s store list. The About page calls the business &ldquo;Family-owned and Texas-operated&rdquo; and &ldquo;a store-director-led organization.&rdquo; No page mentions franchising; we did not open the state&rsquo;s entity filings, which sit behind search forms.

Two more state records show growth under the old name: a Culebra Rd shop in San Antonio, registered 12/23/2024 with a completion date of 3/2/2026, whose store page still read &ldquo;Opening Summer of 2026&rdquo; in October, and &ldquo;Marbach Brake Check&rdquo; on W Loop 1604 S, registered 6/30/2025 for completion on 12/29/2026 and not yet on the company&rsquo;s site.

**Brake and Tire Check store counts by source (read 16 October 2026)**

| Count | What it says | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 55+ | &ldquo;55+ stores statewide, all family-owned and operated&rdquo; | AutoFAIRency page |
| over 58 | &ldquo;over 58 locations across Central and South Texas&rdquo; | Road hazard warranty page |
| over 60 | &ldquo;over 60 shops across Texas&rdquo; | Blog post published in May 2026 |
| 60 store pages | All in Texas; 2 read &ldquo;Opening Summer of 2026&rdquo; | HTML sitemap (our count) |
| 58 stores in 29 cities | San Antonio 11, Houston 8, Austin 6, the rest one to three each | Contact form store list (our count) |

Take the 2 unopened stores off the sitemap&rsquo;s 60 and 58 remain, matching the contact list. The stores cluster around San Antonio, Austin, Houston and Corpus Christi, with none in Dallas-Fort Worth, and the footer says they open 7 days a week: 7:30am to 6:00pm Monday to Saturday, 9:00am to 5:00pm Sunday. Outside Texas there is no store to honor a warranty.

## The free brake inspection, as Brake and Tire Check describes it

The free inspection is a standing offer: the home page promises &ldquo;Always free inspections.&rdquo; The brakes page says &ldquo;Start with a Free Brake Inspection (about 30 minutes),&rdquo; in which &ldquo;A certified technician documents the system front to back, then provides a digital, itemized report so the next steps are clear.&rdquo; Its list of what gets checked has 8 items: pads and shoes (thickness, wear pattern); rotors and drums (runout, scoring, minimum thickness); hardware; calipers (slides, piston operation, leaks); brake fluid (condition, moisture); lines and hoses; master cylinder and power booster; and ABS/ESC warning lights with basic diagnostics.

Store pages promise &ldquo;a transparent, digital estimate before commencing any work.&rdquo; Under its Open Shop Policy you may &ldquo;Step into the bay and see what the techs see,&rdquo; and the AutoFAIRency page grades findings with photos and videos: &ldquo;Red = urgent, yellow = keep an eye on it, green = you&rsquo;re good to go.&rdquo;

Expect the report to raise rotors. The brakes page says &ldquo;With every pad install, you should replace or resurface your rotors,&rdquo; and its FAQ adds &ldquo;We typically recommend replacing rotors as part of a complete brake repair,&rdquo; though it will measure them and say whether they are &ldquo;within manufacturer specifications and safe to resurface.&rdquo; Ask for the measured thickness against the minimum; our guides to [when rotors go with the pads](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/brake-pad-replacement-cost/#rotors) and [bad rotor symptoms](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/symptoms-of-a-bad-brake-rotor/) explain those numbers. The FAQ&rsquo;s warning signs are the usual ones, &ldquo;Squeaking or grinding, steering wheel shake while braking, longer stops, a soft pedal, or warning lights&rdquo;; our pages on [checking pad wear](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/how-long-do-brake-pads-last/#inspect) and [sticking calipers](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/symptoms-of-a-bad-brake-caliper/) help you read a red or yellow item.

## The Lifetime Brakes Warranty, word for word

The warranty page says its terms are meant to be &ldquo;as up front and easy to understand as possible.&rdquo; The lifetime promise is one paragraph, and each clause matters:

- **Which parts.** &ldquo;Our OPTEVE brand lifetime pad warranty means that once you pay for a set of Opteve brake pads or shoes, you never pay for Opteve pads again&rdquo;. Shoes count, so drum brakes are included, but the promise is tied to the Opteve brand.
- **How long.** &ldquo;for as long as you own your vehicle.&rdquo; The life is your ownership of that car.
- **What you still pay.** &ldquo;You only pay a labor charge per axle for as long as you own that vehicle.&rdquo; Pads are free each time; labor is not.
- **Hardware.** Opteve hardware or spring kits are covered &ldquo;(for Free, no labor charge).&rdquo;
- **Who is out.** &ldquo;Our Lifetime Brakes Warranty excludes Commerical vehicles, Heavy-Duty Trucks (1-ton), and High-Performance vehicles.&rdquo; High-performance is not defined.

The brakes page puts it more broadly: &ldquo;All our brake pads come with a Lifetime Warranty,&rdquo; and &ldquo;Every set also comes with our Lifetime Brake Pad Warranty. No upgrade required.&rdquo; It names no brand and no exclusions. The two agree only if every pad it fits is an Opteve pad, which no page says. Ask the store to write on the repair order that your pads are Opteve and your vehicle is not excluded.

**Find out what &ldquo;a labor charge per axle&rdquo; costs before you need it.** No page prints it. The brakes FAQ gives a labor rate of $120 per hour on all mechanical services, but not how long a pad job takes, and a store page calls it &ldquo;a small labor fee.&rdquo; Ask for the per-axle figure in writing when you buy the pads, and keep the repair order for as long as you own the car.

**Brake and Tire Check brake warranties, from its brake warranty page (read 16 October 2026)**

| Warranty | Covers | How long | What you pay | Excluded |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Lifetime Brakes Warranty | Opteve brake pads or shoes | &ldquo;for as long as you own your vehicle&rdquo; | &ldquo;a labor charge per axle&rdquo; | Commercial vehicles, 1-ton heavy-duty trucks, high-performance vehicles |
| Same, hardware | Opteve hardware or spring kits | Same | &ldquo;for Free, no labor charge&rdquo; | Same |
| Limited warranty | Any new, remanufactured or rebuilt part installed | 4,000 miles or 90 days after installation, whichever comes first | Nothing if all recommended work was done; otherwise the labor | High-performance brake parts, rack and pinions, ABS electronics |
| Manufacturer&rsquo;s warranty | Non-stocking parts and the excluded parts | The manufacturer&rsquo;s terms | Not stated | Not stated |

**Figure: Annotated photograph**

Three numbered callouts over the photograph mark the caliper, the rotor face and the brake line, each with one fact from Brake and Tire Check’s warranty and brakes pages.

Brake and Tire Check’s warranty and brakes pages, read on 16 October 2026: Pads: Opteve lifetime warranty while you own the car; labor charged per axle (callout 1); Rotors and other new parts: 90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first (callout 2); Free check, about 30 minutes: calipers, lines, hoses, fluid and ABS lights (callout 3). The photograph is illustrative.

## The 90-day or 4,000-mile warranty, and the conditions on every warranty

The rest of a brake job, from rotors to calipers and hoses, falls under the second paragraph: &ldquo;Any new, remanufactured or rebuilt part installed by Brake and Tire Check is covered by our limited warranty, for the first 4,000 miles or 90 days after installation (whichever comes first).&rdquo; By our arithmetic, a car driven more than 44.4 miles a day reaches 4,000 miles before the 90 days are up.

The key condition is in the same sentence: that cover applies &ldquo;when all recommended work is completed at the time of sale.&rdquo; If you decline part of what was recommended, the company &ldquo;will cover the replacement of all Brake and Tire Check stocking parts as long as (labor) cost is paid.&rdquo; Say no to a recommended item, and a later claim on what you did buy comes with a labor bill. Know that before you leave a yellow item for later. Non-stocking parts fall to the manufacturer&rsquo;s warranty, as do high-performance brake parts, rack and pinions, and ABS electronics.

Under the heading &ldquo;Need to use Brake and Tire Check,&rdquo; conditions follow that apply to all its warranties:

- **Nobody else may touch the work.** &ldquo;All warranties are void if repairs are made on Brake and Tire Check warranted parts or labor by anyone other than an authorized Brake and Tire Check center.&rdquo; A roadside fix on a trip could end your lifetime cover.
- **Pay in full first.** &ldquo;Payment by customer of all monies for work performed&rdquo; comes before any warranty is honored.
- **Watch it yourself.** It is &ldquo;the customer&rsquo;s responsibility to inspect and become accustomed to any new system and to constantly monitor such and report any dissatisfaction to any Brake and Tire Check center.&rdquo; Report a noise or pull early, and note when you did.
- **What a claim can pay.** The &ldquo;exclusive and sole remedy&rdquo; is repair or replacement of defective parts &ldquo;returned to an authorized Brake and Tire Check center at the customer&rsquo;s expense&rdquo;; liability may not &ldquo;exceed the charges previously paid,&rdquo; and &ldquo;incidental, indirect, special, or consequential damages&rdquo; are excluded.
- **No implied warranties.** &ldquo;Any and all implied warranties are expressly disclaimed,&rdquo; including work done &ldquo;in a good and workmanlike manner.&rdquo; See the [warranty law section](#warranty-law) on whether that works.

**Where, and for whom.** The 90-day warranty is honored &ldquo;at any Brake and Tire Check center.&rdquo; The lifetime paragraph names no place, but the conditions require an authorized center, so in practice one of the 58 Texas stores; the brake warranty offers no reimbursement for work elsewhere. It has no transfer clause either, and since its lifetime is your ownership, a buyer of your car should not expect it to carry over. There is no claim procedure beyond reporting the problem to a center, and the warranty says its provisions apply to what is &ldquo;listed on the Repair Order,&rdquo; so that is the document to keep.

## How these printed terms sit beside other chains&rsquo; printed terms

This table compares printed brake terms only, not prices or service, copied from the records our [Brakes Plus](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/brakes-plus/#brake-pads), [Midas](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/midas/#lifetime-parts-guarantee) and [Meineke](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/meineke/#the-warranty) pages made when they read those chains&rsquo; pages.

**Printed brake pad terms at four chains (Brake and Tire Check read 16 October 2026; the others read 9 October 2026 and copied from this site&rsquo;s pages)**

| Printed term | Brake and Tire Check | Brakes Plus | Midas | Meineke |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Brake pad part term | Opteve pads or shoes: &ldquo;for as long as you own your vehicle&rdquo; | &ldquo;See Invoice Detail&rdquo; | &ldquo;for as long as you own your car&rdquo; | As long as you own the car if the invoice says lifetime; otherwise 180 days |
| Labor when a pad is replaced later | &ldquo;a labor charge per axle&rdquo; | Labor covered 12 months or 12,000 miles | &ldquo;only charge for installation&rdquo; | Labor covered 12 months or 12,000 miles |
| Other new brake parts | 90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first | Rotors and drums 12 months or 12,000 miles | Guarantee names pads, shoes, mufflers, shocks and struts only | 12 months or 12,000 miles |
| Who can claim | No transfer clause; the pad term runs while you own the vehicle | Original purchaser; &ldquo;may not be assigned&rdquo; | &ldquo;for as long as you own your car&rdquo; | Original purchaser and vehicle; &ldquo;non-transferable&rdquo; |

Brake and Tire Check prints its pad term on the page and ties it to a brand, where Brakes Plus and Meineke send you to the invoice. Its cover for the rest of a brake job is 90 days or 4,000 miles, where Brakes Plus and Meineke print 12 months or 12,000 miles, and it adds the all-recommended-work condition, which the records we copied for the other three do not show. At any chain, the repair order or invoice decides a claim.

## Printed prices, the estimate and approving the work

Brake and Tire Check prints standing brake prices and says they are not a promotion. The brakes page offers &ldquo;Lifetime Brake Pads starting at $79.88 Installed&rdquo; and adds: &ldquo;That&rsquo;s our everyday starting price for Passenger Cars, not a limited-time discount.&rdquo; The FAQ fills in the rest: &ldquo;Pads for Trucks or SUVs are $99.88,&rdquo; and &ldquo;Our labor rate is $120 per hour on all mechanical services.&rdquo;

Those are starting prices for pads. The company keeps services separate, &ldquo;so you can see exactly what you&rsquo;re paying for,&rdquo; so rotors, hardware, fluid or caliper work are extra lines, and its rotor advice means most estimates will carry a rotor line. A &ldquo;Shop fee&rdquo; appears in its alignment warranty, and its text-message coupon terms say &ldquo;Shop fees and taxes not included,&rdquo; but no page prints the amount. Our [guide to what a brake job includes](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/brake-pad-replacement-cost/#the-job) explains why the lines vary by car.

**The estimate.** Online, the Brake Repair Estimator asks for your vehicle and promises &ldquo;a starting estimate for a standard brake repair, with parts and labor broken out&rdquo;; we entered no vehicle, so we have no estimate to show. In the store, the free inspection ends in the itemized report, and the company says &ldquo;A full, in-person inspection will reveal exactly what your brake system needs.&rdquo;

**Approving the work.** The pages describe a choice, not a package: &ldquo;You see clear pricing before work begins, online and in-store,&rdquo; and &ldquo;A lower-cost fix? A premium option? Waiting a bit? It&rsquo;s your vehicle, your call.&rdquo; The financing page offers a &ldquo;service plan,&rdquo; defined as &ldquo;a customized plan between you and your Brake and Tire Check store to complete recommended work over multiple visits.&rdquo; Two limits come with that freedom: waiting on a recommended item changes your 90-day warranty, and you cannot bring parts, because &ldquo;We do not install customer-supplied parts, tires, oil, or filters.&rdquo;

**Coupons.** The coupons page says &ldquo;fair pricing isn&rsquo;t a promotion. It&rsquo;s how we do business,&rdquo; with &ldquo;No inflated rates just to mark them down later,&rdquo; though it does post deals. A text-message coupon &ldquo;must be presented at time of estimate,&rdquo; one per transaction per vehicle. We record no coupon amounts, because they are limited-time offers.

## Financing: Synchrony Car Care and Synchrony Pay Later

The [financing page](https://brakeandtirecheck.com/financing/) offers &ldquo;Two Ways to Pay,&rdquo; both from Synchrony Bank, which &ldquo;provides the financing and handles account servicing.&rdquo; Both are subject to credit approval.

**Synchrony Car Care** is &ldquo;A reusable credit card designed specifically for automotive expenses.&rdquo; Its standing promotion is in the footnote: &ldquo;No Interest if Paid in Full within 6 Months on purchases of $199 or more,&rdquo; and &ldquo;Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the promotional balance is not paid in full within 6 Months.&rdquo; The page calls it &ldquo;a Deferred Interest Promotion&rdquo;; gas station purchases do not qualify. The standing account terms: &ldquo;New Accounts as of 7/31/25: Purchase APR 34.99%. Penalty APR 39.99%. Min Interest Charge $2.&rdquo;

The brakes FAQ describes three tiers instead: under $199, &ldquo;Standard credit card terms (pay in full within 25 days to avoid interest)&rdquo;; $199 to $749.99, 6 months; and $750 or more, 12 months, each &ldquo;no interest if paid in full.&rdquo; The financing page prints no 12-month tier, so ask which promotion applies before you sign.

**Synchrony Pay Later** &ldquo;offers installment loans for a specific purchase.&rdquo; Its Pay in 4 option will &ldquo;Split your purchase into four equal payments over six weeks with no interest or fees&rdquo;; for Pay Monthly, &ldquo;Terms and APR are determined at approval.&rdquo; The page adds that &ldquo;Synchrony states that Pay Later loans have no prepayment penalty.&rdquo; A limited-time card reward was also advertised; we do not quote promotions.

**Deferred interest is not the same as zero interest.** On the Car Care card, if any promotional balance is left when the 6 months end, interest is charged back to the purchase date, at a purchase APR printed as 34.99% for new accounts. Divide the bill by the months and pay at least that each month, or spread the work with a service plan instead.

## Tires, road hazard, alignments and oil changes

**Tires** are the reason for the new name. Every tire purchase includes &ldquo;Free flat tire repair,&rdquo; &ldquo;Free Lifetime rotations,&rdquo; &ldquo;Free Lifetime balancing&rdquo; and &ldquo;Free alignment quick checks,&rdquo; per the road hazard page. The company will not &ldquo;mount, balance, or install tires purchased elsewhere, whether new or used,&rdquo; and once tires &ldquo;have been installed or driven on, they are not eligible for return or refund.&rdquo;

The optional [Road Hazard Warranty](https://brakeandtirecheck.com/tires/road-hazard-warranty-2/) (Last Modified 7.9.2026) must be bought with the tires. If a covered tire cannot be repaired, it is replaced &ldquo;up to the original purchase price with applicable sales tax&rdquo; if it has 3/32&rdquo; of tread and &ldquo;is within three (3) years of age,&rdquo; with &ldquo;up to one (1) tire replacement for each tire covered&rdquo; and &ldquo;no prorating based on mileage.&rdquo; You pay to mount and balance the replacement; there is &ldquo;up to $75 in towing assistance&rdquo;; and the warranty is &ldquo;non-transferable.&rdquo; Collision, vandalism and trailer tires are among the exclusions, and &ldquo;we do not repair tires more than 6 years old.&rdquo; Our [Discount Tire warranty page](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/discount-tire-warranty/#maker-warranty) explains how road hazard cover differs from a tire maker&rsquo;s warranty.

**Alignments and oil.** The free alignment quick check takes &ldquo;under 2 minutes,&rdquo; and the 3-Year Alignment Warranty promises &ldquo;unlimited alignments on your vehicle for three years as needed,&rdquo; with &ldquo;a Shop fee applied at each service appointment.&rdquo; Oil changes are priced by the quart, with &ldquo;no 5-quart minimum,&rdquo; and &ldquo;Most of our oil changes are done in about 30 minutes.&rdquo; The Slick Deal is printed as a standing program with no end date: a $20 introductory discount, then &ldquo;the 2nd and 4th oil changes are 50% off and the 6th is free,&rdquo; after which &ldquo;the Slick Deal cycle starts over.&rdquo; Your carmaker&rsquo;s schedule should set the interval; see our guides to [how often to change oil](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/how-often-to-change-oil/) and [wheel alignments](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/wheel-alignment-cost/).

## Texas state inspections: what Brake and Tire Check offers, and what the law requires

None of the Brake and Tire Check pages we read offers a Texas state inspection or an emissions test. The two open store pages we read, in San Antonio and Houston, each list four &ldquo;Services at this Location&rdquo; (brake repair, wheel alignments, oil change and tire shop) and nothing else. We did not use the Texas DPS station locator, so we cannot rule out that a store holds an inspection licence; the company does not advertise one.

It knows the rules changed. A blog post published in May 2026 says &ldquo;As of January 1, 2025, House Bill 3297 eliminated safety inspections for non-commercial vehicles in Texas,&rdquo; so &ldquo;drivers are now a little more responsible for keeping an eye on things like tire condition, alignment wear, and overall vehicle safety between service visits.&rdquo; That includes brakes: no state inspection now looks at them on a private car.

**Texas inspection rules before registration (TxDMV, re-checked 16 October 2026; DPS maximum charges copied from this site&rsquo;s Kwik Kar page, read 10 October 2026)**

| Your vehicle | Inspection needed | Most a station may charge (DPS) | Paid at registration (TxDMV) |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Non-commercial, registered in one of 17 emissions counties | Emissions test only | $18.50 in the DFW/Houston group; $11.50 in El Paso, Travis and Williamson | $2.75 Emissions Inspection Fee |
| Non-commercial, any other county | None | Not applicable | No emissions fee |
| Commercial, any county | Annual commercial inspection | $40.00 | The state&rsquo;s portion of the fee |

TxDMV&rsquo;s 17 counties include Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery and Brazoria around Houston and Travis and Williamson around Austin and Round Rock, where many of the chain&rsquo;s stores sit; Bexar County, home to its San Antonio stores, is not on the list. By our arithmetic the most a Houston-area driver pays for the test is $21.25, the $18.50 station ceiling plus the $2.75 registration fee: a legal ceiling, not a price at any shop. Our [Kwik Kar page](https://baronauto1.com/car-care/kwik-kar/#inspections) explains the emissions test, our [inspection cost guide](https://baronauto1.com/buying-guides/how-much-does-a-car-inspection-cost/#state-test) compares states, and our [readiness monitor guide](https://baronauto1.com/vehicle-history/emissions-check-by-vin/#readiness) explains why a fresh battery or a cleared code can make a car fail.

## What federal warranty rules say about this wording

Four federal texts, read on govinfo, bear on the brake warranty. None of this is legal advice, and whether these rules for written warranties on consumer products reach brake parts installed in a repair is itself a legal question.

- **Disclaiming implied warranties.** Under [15 U.S.C. 2308(a)](https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title15/html/USCODE-2024-title15-chap50-sec2308.htm), &ldquo;No supplier may disclaim or modify&rdquo; an implied warranty on a consumer product if it &ldquo;makes any written warranty to the consumer&rdquo; on it, and under 2308(c) a disclaimer in violation &ldquo;shall be ineffective for purposes of this chapter and State law.&rdquo; Brake and Tire Check gives written warranties and, in the same document, says &ldquo;Any and all implied warranties are expressly disclaimed.&rdquo; Where the federal rule applies, that sentence would not remove your implied-warranty rights.
- **The state-law sentence.** The FTC&rsquo;s rule, 16 CFR 701.3, covers a written warranty on a product &ldquo;actually costing the consumer more than $15.00&rdquo; and says an exclusion of incidental or consequential damages should come with the statement &ldquo;Some States do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, so the above limitation or exclusion may not apply to you.&rdquo; The brake warranty excludes those damages and prints no such statement.
- **Full or limited.** Under 15 U.S.C. 2303, a written warranty that does not meet the federal minimum standards must be &ldquo;conspicuously designated a &lsquo;limited warranty&rsquo;.&rdquo; The 90-day promise calls itself &ldquo;our limited warranty&rdquo;; the lifetime one uses neither word.
- **&ldquo;Lifetime&rdquo; names its life.** The FTC&rsquo;s guide, 16 CFR 239.4, says a &ldquo;lifetime&rdquo; claim should disclose &ldquo;the life to which the representation refers,&rdquo; with the example &ldquo;Good for as long as you own the car!&rdquo; Brake and Tire Check&rsquo;s &ldquo;for as long as you own your vehicle&rdquo; does that.

If a store will not honor a claim, the pages give no route beyond reporting it to a center; the website Terms of Use have no arbitration clause. You can also complain to the Texas attorney general&rsquo;s consumer protection division. We found no attorney-general, FTC or court action about the chain&rsquo;s repairs, warranty or advertising in an official source, and the Better Business Bureau&rsquo;s site blocked our reader.

## Where Brake and Tire Check&rsquo;s own pages disagree

We recorded 8 places where the company&rsquo;s documents disagree or point to something missing:

- **Store counts:** &ldquo;55+,&rdquo; &ldquo;over 58&rdquo; and &ldquo;over 60&rdquo; on three pages; 58 on the contact list, as the sitemap shows once its 2 unopened stores are removed. Two of those store pages still said &ldquo;Opening Summer of 2026&rdquo; in mid-October.
- **Which pads are lifetime:** Opteve only, with exclusions, on the warranty page; &ldquo;All our brake pads&rdquo; on the brakes page. The labor bill is &ldquo;a labor charge per axle&rdquo; on one page and &ldquo;a small labor fee&rdquo; on another, with no amount on either.
- **Financing:** a 12-month tier at $750 or more in the brakes FAQ; only the 6-month promotion on the financing page.
- **Dates and addresses:** the Terms of Use say &ldquo;Last Modified: January 14, 2021&rdquo; yet use the 2025-26 name and a privacy address that differs from the footer&rsquo;s; the privacy policy says its revision date &ldquo;is identified at the top of the page,&rdquo; but none is printed.
- **Tire cover:** &ldquo;Full coverage for the life of your tires, up to 3 years&rdquo; in the road hazard table, but the policy ends at 3/32&rdquo; of tread or three years, whichever comes first, and links to an address that is not the page&rsquo;s own.

- **Before brake work,** ask whether your pads are Opteve, whether your vehicle is excluded (commercial, 1-ton, high-performance), and what the per-axle labor charge will be for a warranty replacement.
- **Read the itemized estimate** line by line: which items are red or yellow, the rotor measurements against the minimum, the shop fee and tax.
- **Know what declining costs:** skip recommended work, and a 90-day warranty claim on the rest comes with a labor bill.
- **Keep the repair order** for as long as you own the car, and report any noise, pull or soft pedal to a center promptly.
- **Keep other shops off** the warranted brakes; all warranties are void if anyone else repairs them.
- **On the Car Care card,** clear the promotional balance within the 6 months, or interest runs from the purchase date.

## Common questions

### Is Brake Check now Brake and Tire Check?

Yes. Its About page says it &ldquo;Rebranded to Brake and Tire Check&rdquo; in 2025-26, after adding tires in 2023, with &ldquo;Same ownership.&rdquo; brakecheck.com forwards to brakeandtirecheck.com.

### Does Brake Check have a lifetime warranty on brakes?

On pads and shoes, with conditions. Opteve brand pads or shoes are covered &ldquo;for as long as you own your vehicle,&rdquo; but you pay &ldquo;a labor charge per axle&rdquo; for each replacement, and commercial vehicles, 1-ton trucks and high-performance vehicles are excluded. Other new parts get 90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first.

### Is the Brake Check warranty transferable?

The brake warranty has no transfer clause, but its lifetime is your ownership of the vehicle, so do not expect it to pass to a buyer. The road hazard tire warranty is &ldquo;non-transferable.&rdquo;

### How much does Brake Check charge for brake pads?

Its brakes page prints standing starting prices: $79.88 installed for passenger cars, $99.88 for trucks or SUVs, and labor at $120 per hour. Rotors, hardware and a shop fee are separate lines, so get the itemized estimate after the free inspection.

### Who owns Brake Check?

Peveto Companies, Ltd., per the website Terms of Use and footer, and a Texas TDLR record lists Peveto Companies, LTD as owner of its Round Rock Palm Valley shop. The About page says founder John Peveto Jr. started in 1968 and calls the business family-owned.

### Does Brake and Tire Check do Texas state inspections?

None of its pages offers one; its stores list brakes, alignments, oil changes and tires. Since January 1, 2025, private cars in Texas need no safety inspection, and in 17 counties they still need an emissions test before registration.

## Sources and further reading

- [15 U.S.C. § 2308 (Implied warranties)](https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/15/2308)
- [TxDMV register your vehicle](https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/register-your-vehicle)

Recall, complaint and safety-rating figures on this page were retrieved from the federal databases above on August 19, 2026. Federal data changes — re-check any VIN before you rely on it.

---

*This site is under new ownership and is not affiliated with Baron Auto Emporium dealership.*

Canonical source: https://baronauto1.com/car-care/brake-check/
