Grease Monkey Oil Change: Warranty, Coupons and Who Runs It

Grease Monkey publishes no oil-change price, but it prints a 3-month or 3,000-mile warranty claimed at the center that did the work, a Free Refill Program and coupon fine print. Its franchise disclosure document shows who owns it, and that 175 of its 408 U.S. centers are company-owned.

Brand panel beside a red engine cam cover

The short version

  • Grease Monkey prints no price for an oil change. Its coupons are a “Discount off regular price” without saying what the regular price is, cover “Up to 5 quarts,” and add that “Taxes and/or disposal fees” are extra where permitted. Ask for the total before work starts.
  • The work carries a written limited warranty: services and products on the invoice are covered for 3 months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first, if the car gets the maker’s recommended maintenance in that time.
  • Claims go back to the same center, with the original invoice. Grease Monkey’s warranty page says the center on the invoice makes the warranty, and it may inspect the car first.
  • Between visits, the Free Refill Program tops up motor oil (up to 1 quart), power steering, battery, washer and transmission fluid at no charge. Antifreeze is not included.
  • Grease Monkey is owned by MidOcean Partners through FullSpeed Automotive. At the end of 2025 there were 408 Grease Monkey centers in the U.S.: 233 franchised and 175 company-owned, according to its Franchise Disclosure Document.
  • The disclosure document reports one lawsuit: a proposed California class action over “Ladies’ Day” discounts, which the franchisor and its affiliate settled in August 2025 by paying $200,000, the FDD says.

A Grease Monkey oil change is a no-appointment, drive-in service at a center run either by a local franchisee or by the company, and the document that matters most is the invoice: it starts the 3-month or 3,000-mile warranty, it is what you bring back to claim, and it names the center that made the promise. On 9 October 2026 we read Grease Monkey’s pages on the oil change, its services, the No Monkey Business Guarantee and the Limited Warranty, its coupons and their fine print, its SMS terms, privacy policy and two store pages; FullSpeed Automotive’s pages on the brand; and the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) of Grease Monkey Franchising, LLC issued April 7, 2026, as filed in Minnesota. This site has no commercial relationship with Grease Monkey, FullSpeed or any oil brand.

What Grease Monkey’s own documents say, by situationNine situations a Grease Monkey customer meets, each answered from Grease Monkey’s guarantee, warranty, coupon and store pages, its SMS terms, or its April 7, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document.YOUR SITUATION AT GREASE MONKEYWHAT GREASE MONKEY’S OWN DOCUMENTS SAYSomething goes wrong afterthe visitServices and products on the invoice arecovered for 3 months or 3,000 miles, whichevercomes firstYou want the warrantyhonored at another GreaseMonkeyThe warranty page says return to the originalcenter with the original invoiceYou declined a recommendedserviceThe guarantee does not apply if you declinedrecommended work listed on the invoiceYou run low on fluidsbetween visitsFree Refill Program: up to 1 quart of motoroil and four other fluids; antifreeze excludedYou want the price beforeyou pull inNo price is printed online; coupons are adiscount off a regular price that is not shownYour engine takes more than5 quartsOil-change coupons cover up to 5 quarts; extraparts, taxes and disposal fees can be addedYou are military, 55 orover, or drive for Lyft orUberStore pages list these discounts as datedcoupons; the rideshare coupon requires IDYou use a texted couponShow it at the estimate; one coupon code pertransaction; not valid with other offersYour center may becompany-owned or franchised175 of 408 U.S. centers were company-owned and233 franchised at the end of 2025 (FDD)
Read from greasemonkey.com and the Franchise Disclosure Document filed in Minnesota, on 9 October 2026.

What a Grease Monkey oil change costs, and what the paperwork says about price

No Grease Monkey page we read gives a price, a starting price or a range for an oil change, and neither store page lists prices. What the pages print is coupon fine print, which shows how a bill is built. Behind each national oil-change coupon it reads: “Discount off regular price. Up to 5 quarts. Not Valid with other offers. Charge for additional parts/services, if needed. No cash value. Taxes and/or disposal fees extra, where permitted.” So three things can go on top: quarts beyond five (no page prices an extra quart), any additional parts or services, and taxes and disposal fees, for which no amount is stated.

Who sets the regular price? The FDD, written for people buying a Grease Monkey franchise, gives the franchisor one pricing power in Item 16: “We reserve the right to establish minimum and maximum resale prices for use with multi-area marketing programs and special price promotions.” It says nothing else about what a center charges. Our reading: outside those promotions, the price is the center’s own, which is why two Grease Monkey centers can quote different totals for the same car.

Treat any Grease Monkey price you see quoted as one center’s price. Grease Monkey publishes none. Before the technician starts, ask for the total for your car: the oil type, the quarts your engine takes, the filter, any coupon, tax and any disposal fee.

The one dated figure on spending: what franchisees reported in 2025

The FDD’s Item 19 is the only document we found with a number on what a visit has added up to. It groups 174 franchised centers by 2025 sales and prints an “Average Ticket” for each group, from $114.42 to $139.09, with a “Ticket Range” running from $63.11 to $360.34 at its widest. Four limits apply. The figures come from franchisees’ own statements and “have not been audited.” They cover 174 of 233 franchised centers (74.7%, by our arithmetic) and no company-owned ones. The FDD does not define “ticket”; we read it as a bill per vehicle, add-ons included, but the document does not say so. And they describe 2025: they are not a price for any service.

What a Grease Monkey full-service oil change includes

Grease Monkey’s oil-change page promises “fresh oil, a new filter, and a complete health check” in three steps: the old oil and filter come out, the center refills “with the correct oil based on your vehicle’s needs” with a new filter, and then comes a “Wellness Check.” No appointment is needed; the FDD says most centers are freestanding with “drive-through capability” and can have three to six bays. How many things are checked depends on which page you read:

The checks as Grease Monkey’s own pages describe them (read 9 October 2026)
PageWhat it says is checkedCount printed
Oil-change page, “Wellness Check”Air filters, battery condition, brake fluid, cabin air filter, chassis lube (if needed), exterior lights, differential fluid, engine coolant, power steering fluid, tire pressure, transmission fluid, washer fluid, wiper blades13 items listed
Services page, “Complimentary Services”Check/fill tire pressure, check/fill washer fluid, check wipers, engine air filter, cabin air filter and exterior lights6 items listed
Services page, introduction“16 key checkpoints”16, not listed
Two store pages (Marietta, Georgia; Monument, Colorado)“a thorough 16-point inspection with every oil change”16, not listed
Coupons page“a free tire check, fluid top-off, battery test, and engine light scan”None

The 13 listed items are 3 short of the 16 promised elsewhere, by our arithmetic; no page names the other three. Use the longest list as your checklist when the invoice is silent. And know what the checks are not: the guarantee page calls them “just quick inspections,” “not full diagnostics or repairs,” and the warranty page gives no warranty “that all safety repairs needed or defective parts will be identified.” A warning light needs its own diagnosis; see our guide to what the check engine light means.

Everything else is extra, and the menu “may vary by location.” A store’s preventive-maintenance coupon lists what Grease Monkey treats as add-ons: oil system cleaner, wipers, bulbs, air and cabin filters, radiator, transmission, differential, transfer case and gear box fluid exchanges, fuel system cleaning, fuel filters and engine treatments. The FDD says every center “must offer brake services”; our page on brake pad replacement cost explains that bill. Grease Monkey’s home page says manufacturer-recommended fluid exchanges keep “your warranty intact”; the test for any of them is whether your owner’s manual calls for it at your mileage.

Which oil: full synthetic, synthetic blend, high mileage, and conventional

The oil-change page ranks four oils: full synthetic (“Best”), synthetic blend and high mileage (“Better”), and conventional blend (“Good”), with high-mileage oil meant for vehicles “over 75,000 miles.” On conventional oil the pages disagree: the oil-change page says “Most Grease Monkey locations no longer carry conventional oil” and that it “will not meet your manufacturer’s warranty,” while both store pages’ FAQ offers “a full range of oil options, including conventional.” Your owner’s manual, not a quick-lube page, decides whether conventional oil meets your car’s specification.

No page names the oil brand; the store FAQ says “from top brands.” The FDD says franchisees must buy “90% of all products from approved vendors” and that the franchisor has purchase arrangements for bulk motor oil and filters; it names no brand. If the brand or certification matters to you, have it written on the invoice.

On intervals, one page gives three answers for synthetic oil: “Every 7,500-10,000 miles” (with an extended-life filter, since “many regular oil filters only go for about 5,000 miles”), “Often lasts 5,000–10,000 miles,” and “5,000 to 7,500 miles” in severe conditions. Conventional oil gets 3,000 to 5,000 miles, and every oil “At least once a year.” The same page says: “Always check your owner’s manual or oil-life monitor.” Our page on how often to change oil explains what actually sets the interval, including the severe-service schedule.

Many centers send “reminder emails or texts for your next service,” store pages say. A reminder is not your car’s schedule; the manual’s interval is the one Grease Monkey’s own warranty depends on.

The No Monkey Business Guarantee: 3 months or 3,000 miles

Grease Monkey describes its promise on two pages. The newer one, the No Monkey Business Guarantee, says it “covers all services and products listed on your invoice” against “a problem with the materials or the way a service was performed.” The older Limited Warranty page covers “defects in materials or workmanship.” Both run 3 months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first, counted from the invoice: cover ends at whichever of those two points the car reaches first.

The cover has a condition. The guarantee holds only if the car “gets regular, manufacturer-recommended maintenance during that time”; the warranty page says “reasonable and manufacturer’s recommended maintenance during the warranty period.” If your owner’s manual calls for any service inside those 3 months, keep that receipt with the Grease Monkey invoice.

Both pages list the same three kinds of exclusion, in different words:

Grease Monkey’s two versions of the same promise (guarantee page dated August 2025, warranty page October 2025 in their page data; both read 9 October 2026)
TermNo Monkey Business Guarantee pageLimited Warranty page
What is covered“all services and products listed on your invoice”“the services and products shown on the invoice,” against “defects in materials or workmanship”
How long3 months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes firstThree months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first
Clock starts“the date and mileage noted on your receipt”“the date of service or mileage shown on the original invoice”
Work you turned downNo cover if “You declined recommended labor, parts, or services listed on the original invoice”No cover if the invoice shows you declined work “required for satisfactory performance”
Someone else’s fixNo cover if someone “attempts to fix the issue without written approval from the original Grease Monkey Service Center”No cover if corrective action is taken “without prior written approval” from the center that did the work
Your time and the car’s downtime“lost time, vehicle downtime, or inconvenience” excluded“loss of time, inconvenience, loss of use of the vehicle or other incidental or consequential damages” excluded
Where to claim“the same Grease Monkey Service Center where you received the service”“the original Service Center with the original invoice”

Two rows matter in practice. The declined-work exclusion is wider on the guarantee page, since “recommended” covers more than “required for satisfactory performance”; if you decline something, ask that the invoice say plainly what and why. And if a drain plug weeps or a filter leaks, call the center that did the work before anyone else touches the car: a repair elsewhere without written approval is excluded on both pages.

The Free Refill Program between visits

The same two pages carry a standing perk. The guarantee page says that if you run low between your “regular 3-month/3,000-mile visits,” a center will “check and top off your fluids for free”:

  • Motor oil, “up to 1 quart”
  • Power steering fluid
  • Battery fluid
  • Windshield washer fluid
  • Transmission or transaxle fluid
  • A tire pressure check and set

“Antifreeze/coolant not included,” the page adds, and the warranty page ties the program to “normal usage of your vehicle.” Neither says how many refills are allowed or whether your last oil change must have been at the same center; ask. A car that keeps needing oil between changes has a leak or a consumption problem worth diagnosing; our guide to finding fluid leaks starts with cardboard under the car overnight.

Making a claim: the same center, the original invoice

Both pages send you back to the center that did the work. The warranty page is firmer: “you must return to the original Service Center with the original invoice,” which “reserves the right to inspect the vehicle involved in the claim before any corrective action can be taken.” The reason is in one sentence: the Limited Warranty “is made by the independently owned and operated Grease Monkey® Service Center shown on the invoice.” The promise is the center’s, not the brand’s, and no page we read offers a way to claim at another Grease Monkey if you have moved or are traveling. The FDD says the same for services few centers offer (those “not performed in at least 85 percent” of centers): the invoice must say the customer “can only return to your Grease Monkey Center to exercise the warranty.”

That sentence also calls every center “independently owned and operated.” The FDD counts 175 of the 408 U.S. centers at the end of 2025 as company-owned, “operated by GMI,” Grease Monkey International, LLC (see who runs the centers). The practical rule is the same either way: keep the invoice, go back to that center, and get anything agreed in writing.

The invoice is the warranty. It sets the start date and mileage, lists what is covered, records anything you declined, and names the center that owes you the repair. Photograph it before you leave, and do not let another shop fix a problem with Grease Monkey’s work before that center has seen it and given written approval.

The same three terms as other chains print them, from this site’s readings of their own pages (written terms only, not prices or service):

Printed warranty and top-off terms of four oil-change chains (each read on 9 October 2026 from the chain’s own pages)
ChainWritten warranty on oil-change workWhere you claimTop-offs between visits
Grease Monkey3 months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes firstThe original center, with the original invoiceFree: motor oil up to 1 quart and four other fluids; not antifreeze
Jiffy Lube“3 months or 3,000 miles of use, whichever comes first”“See back of invoice for details”Within 3,000 miles, “up to 2 quarts per fluid,” motor oil included
Take 5None found in writingNot stated“We’ll also top off your fluids in between oil changes”; no limits printed
Valvoline Instant Oil ChangeNone found on oil-change work (a 30-day warranty on air conditioning service)Not stated“There may be a fee for top-offs of certain fluids”
Motor oil being poured from a bottle into an engine's filler neck.Annotated photographThree numbered callouts over the photograph mark the bottle, the oil stream and the filler neck, each with one fact from Grease Monkey’s coupon, Free Refill and warranty pages.Grease Monkey coupons cover up to 5quarts; taxes and disposal fees canbe extra1Low between visits? The Free RefillProgram tops up to 1 quart of motoroil free2Covered 3 months or 3,000 miles;claims go to the center that didthe work3
Grease Monkey’s coupon, Free Refill and warranty pages, read on 9 October 2026: Grease Monkey coupons cover up to 5 quarts; taxes and disposal fees can be extra (callout 1); Low between visits? The Free Refill Program tops up to 1 quart of motor oil free (callout 2); Covered 3 months or 3,000 miles; claims go to the center that did the work (callout 3). The photograph is illustrative.

Grease Monkey coupons and discounts: what stands and what rotates

Grease Monkey’s coupons change, and every one we saw on 9 October 2026 carried a “Redeem By” date, so we quote no amounts. What does not change is how they work.

National coupons

The coupons, home, oil-change and services pages showed the same two national coupons, for a full-service synthetic blend and a full-service full synthetic oil change, with the fine print quoted in the price section. Where they work depends on the page: the coupons page says “Available at Participating Locations,” while the services page shows the same coupons under “Valid at Locations Nationwide.” Rely on the narrower wording and ask before the work starts.

Store coupons and the standing discount groups

Each store page has its own coupon strip and a box headed “Our Discounts.” Both store pages we opened, in Marietta, Georgia, and Monument, Colorado, listed the same four groups there: Military, Lyft Driver, Uber Driver and Fleets. Neither box gives an amount. The amounts appear only on dated coupons in the strip above it, which on both pages were the same five: seniors (“55+ only”), any full-service oil change, preventive maintenance, military and rideshare. Their fine print adds conditions the national coupons lack:

  • Rideshare: “ID Required at time of purchase,” “Up to 5 quarts,” and “Valid at participating locations only.”
  • Military, seniors and the general store coupon: “Valid at listed location only.” The military coupon’s fine print does not mention ID, although the SMS terms below say some coupons “(e.g., for veterans) require provision of proper identification.” Bring proof of service anyway.
  • Preventive maintenance: applies to the add-on list described above and “Excludes: Oil changes, Batteries, Tire Services, Brakes,” engine and mechanical repair, emissions testing and state inspections.

So a military discount, a rideshare discount and a seniors coupon exist as categories at these centers, but none is printed as a fixed national percentage. Grease Monkey’s store FAQ says to “Check your local Grease Monkey’s webpage or sign up for email/text alerts.” Because coupons are “Not Valid with other offers,” expect to use one discount per visit and ask which one saves more.

Coupons by text: the SMS terms

The SMS terms say a texted coupon “must be presented at time of estimate,” that there is “Only one coupon code per transaction,” and that coupons are not valid with “other offers, special order parts or warranty work.” Messages may come “up to 2 texts/week,” and “consent is not required to make any purchase.” Two points to know before you sign up: joining means agreeing to “binding, individual-only arbitration” of disputes about the program, and the published terms still contain unfilled template text, naming the sender as “BRAND NAME” and the opt-out number as “short code __.” The terms say you opt out by texting STOP.

The privacy policy says Grease Monkey may collect your “vehicle identification number or license plate number” and share personal information with “franchisees” and with third parties “to market their products or services to you if you have not opted out.” Text-message opt-in data, it says, “will not be shared with any third parties.”

Fleets, and what we did not find

The fleet page offers service tracking, reminders and “consolidated billing,” with no discount printed. The FDD requires franchised centers to service “all national fleet accounts” under the franchisor’s policies and its agreements with fleet account vendors. We found no Grease Monkey credit card, financing offer, price match, membership plan or loyalty points on the pages we read.

Who owns Grease Monkey, and who runs your center

Three companies sit behind the sign. Grease Monkey Franchising, LLC, a Colorado company formed on January 3, 2006, sells and manages the franchises; the FDD says it “does not currently operate any Grease Monkey Centers, our affiliates and franchisees do.” Its affiliate Grease Monkey International, LLC (GMI) was the franchisor “from approximately September 1978 through March 2006,” still owns the trademarks, and runs the company-owned centers along with other quick-lube brands. Both belong to the group that calls itself FullSpeed Automotive (“Part of the FullSpeed Family,” the greasemonkey.com footer says), which also franchises SpeeDee and Kwik Kar.

The owner at the top is a private equity firm. The FDD traces the franchisor through seven holding companies to MidOcean Partners V, L.P.: “MidOcean is our ultimate parent company. It is a private investment group that owns multiple other business concepts.” FullSpeed’s own release of November 30, 2020 says MidOcean Partners “has acquired FullSpeed Automotive” from CenterOak Partners, with financial terms not disclosed (FullSpeed’s release).

The FDD’s Item 20 gives the only dated count of Grease Monkey centers, U.S. only:

Grease Monkey outlets in the United States, from the Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 7, 2026 (Item 20, Table 1)
At year endFranchisedCompany-owned (run by GMI)Total
2023201151352
2024209163372
2025233175408

By our arithmetic, 42.9% of U.S. centers were company-owned at the end of 2025 and 57.1% franchised, and the system grew by 56 centers in two years. In 2025, 29 franchised centers opened, against 2 terminations, 1 non-renewal and 2 that ceased operating for other reasons; on the company side, 14 opened and 2 closed, and the FDD notes that 10 of the Texas openings were existing GMI shops “converted to Grease Monkey Centers in 2025.” Franchisees had signed agreements for 35 more centers not yet open, and the franchisor projected 31 new franchised openings in 2026. Colorado (86 centers), Texas (60) and Georgia (45) together hold 46.8% of the total, by our arithmetic, and the mix differs by state: Colorado’s are mostly franchised, Georgia’s mostly company-owned.

Grease Monkey’s pages size it differently: “Almost 600 Grease Monkey locations” (home page), a FullSpeed “network of over 700+ locations” (store pages), “900+” across FullSpeed’s brands, and “hundreds of locations” (FullSpeed’s brand page). The About page adds centers in Mexico, China, Colombia and Saudi Arabia, which the FDD’s U.S. count leaves out, but gives no dated figure. Use the 408.

Why it matters to a customer: the brand page says “Most of our shops are locally owned and operated,” and the warranty page makes each center the issuer of its own warranty. Neither store page we opened says whether it is franchised or company-owned. If you plan to rely on the warranty, ask at the counter who owns the center, and keep the invoice that names it.

What the public record shows: the Ladies’ Day case

The FDD’s Item 3, where a franchisor must disclose material litigation, lists one case, and we describe it only as the FDD does; we did not read the court file. Two men who had used two franchised Grease Monkey centers in California filed a proposed class action on August 13, 2024 in the Superior Court of California, County of Orange (case no. 30-2024-01418497-CU-CR-CXC). They asserted that two franchisees, GMI and the franchisor “committed negligence and violated the Unruh Civil Rights Act, which prohibits gender-based discrimination, by marketing Ladies’ Day promotions providing associated discounts,” and sought an injunction, statutory damages and attorneys’ fees.

According to the FDD, “In August 2025, the plaintiffs and defendants entered into a settlement agreement whereby GMI and we paid the plaintiffs $200,000 on behalf of all of the defendants,” and the plaintiffs released all claims against all defendants. The FDD does not say that any defendant admitted the claims. GMI and the franchisor then pursued crossclaims against franchisee defendants; after a mediation on March 4, 2026 they “agreed to pay GK Oil $50,000,” with the crossclaims to be dismissed once payments are made. Otherwise, the FDD says, “no litigation is required to be disclosed,” and Item 4 reports no bankruptcy. A web search on 9 October 2026 found no state attorney-general or FTC action naming Grease Monkey.

For customers the case is a footnote with one practical point: the promotions at issue were marketed at franchised centers, yet GMI and the franchisor paid the settlement “on behalf of all of the defendants.” None of the coupons we read on 9 October 2026 was limited by gender.

Will a Grease Monkey oil change affect your car’s factory warranty?

Not by itself. The FTC’s guidance on auto warranties and service contracts says “it’s illegal for a dealer to deny your warranty coverage because you had routine maintenance or repairs done by someone else.” Behind it are 15 U.S.C. 2302(c), which bars conditioning a warranty on a service “identified by brand, trade, or corporate name” unless it is free, and 16 CFR 700.10(c), which bars conditioning one on “the use of only authorized repair service.”

The same FTC page sets two limits. If your warranty provides maintenance free, the maker “can make you use repair facilities it chooses,” so paying Grease Monkey for a free scheduled service wastes it. And if work is done wrong and damages a covered part, the maker “can deny warranty coverage for the damaged part,” though it “must prove” the cause. That makes the invoice doubly useful: it is your Grease Monkey warranty and your maintenance record. The FTC’s advice is to “Keep records of repairs and maintenance like oil changes”; our page on oil-change records shows what a usable one contains, and our guide to whether an extended warranty is worth it explains how a service contract tests them.

Where Grease Monkey’s own documents disagree, and what they leave out

Besides the conflicts covered above (who makes the warranty, declined work, the check counts, conventional oil, intervals, where coupons work, ID for military coupons and the store counts), we found these:

  • Time. “Under 15 minutes” on the home page, “about 15 minutes” on store and fleet pages. The FDD says centers commit to a time limit under the Pit Crew Guarantee but does not state it.
  • The company’s name. The website terms open with “Grease Monkey International, LLC” and close with “Grease Monkey International, Inc.”
  • Unfinished terms. The SMS terms still say “BRAND NAME” and “short code __.”

Not published at all: a price for any service, the cost of a quart beyond five, the disposal fee, how many free refills you may claim, whether you can claim the warranty at another center, whether a center accepts your own oil or used oil from home oil changes, and which centers are franchised.

Before and after a Grease Monkey visit

  • Check the manual first. Note the oil specification, the capacity with filter, and the interval. They decide what you need and what you can decline.
  • Bring the coupon and any proof. Have the texted or emailed coupon ready at the estimate, with ID if the coupon asks for it (the rideshare coupon does) and proof of age for the seniors coupon.
  • Ask for the total before work starts. Oil type, quarts, filter, coupon, tax and disposal fee.
  • Weigh each recommendation. Ask what was seen and whether your manual calls for it now. If you decline, ask that the invoice say so plainly.
  • Read the invoice before you drive off. It should show the oil type and viscosity, quantity, filter, mileage and the center’s name and number.
  • Check afterwards. Look at the dipstick once the engine has rested, and for drips after the first drive. If something is wrong, go back to the same center with the invoice before anyone else works on it.
  • Use the Free Refill Program, and notice how often. A regular quart of oil between visits is a symptom to diagnose.

Our pages on the Jiffy Lube, Take 5, Valvoline, Walmart and Express Oil Change oil changes, and on Meineke, read those companies’ published terms the same way.

Common questions

How much is an oil change at Grease Monkey?

Grease Monkey does not publish a price. Its coupons are a discount “off regular price,” cover up to 5 quarts, and leave taxes and disposal fees extra where permitted. The FDD reserves price-setting to the franchisor only for multi-area promotions; otherwise, by our reading, each center sets its own. Ask the center for the total for your car before work starts.

Does Grease Monkey have a warranty on oil changes?

Yes. Services and products on the invoice are covered for 3 months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first, against problems with materials or workmanship, if the car gets the maker’s recommended maintenance. You claim at the center that did the work, with the original invoice; declined work, repairs by others without written approval and lost time are excluded.

Does Grease Monkey top off fluids for free?

Yes, under its Free Refill Program: between your regular visits a center will top up motor oil (up to 1 quart), power steering, battery, washer and transmission fluid and set tire pressure at no charge. Antifreeze and coolant are not included.

Does Grease Monkey have a military or senior discount?

The store pages we read list military, Lyft driver, Uber driver and fleet discounts, and show a seniors coupon for drivers 55 and over. The amounts are on dated coupons that cannot be combined with other offers. No national, standing percentage is printed, so check your center’s page.

Who owns Grease Monkey, and is it a franchise?

Grease Monkey belongs to the FullSpeed Automotive group, whose ultimate parent is the private equity firm MidOcean Partners. At the end of 2025 there were 408 U.S. centers: 233 franchised and 175 company-owned, run by Grease Monkey International, LLC, according to the FDD issued April 7, 2026.

Do I need an appointment, and how long does it take?

No appointment: store pages say “We do not currently take appointments.” Grease Monkey says an oil change is “done in under 15 minutes” on its home page and takes “about 15 minutes” on its store pages; add-ons and a queue add time.

Sources and further reading

Recall, complaint and safety-rating figures on this page were retrieved from the federal databases above on August 19, 2026. Federal data changes — re-check any VIN before you rely on it.

Baron Auto Editorial Team We research used cars against federal data — NHTSA recall campaigns, owner complaints and EPA fuel-economy records — and publish what we find. We do not sell cars, loans, or insurance, and no manufacturer or dealer pays for coverage here.

Published October 9, 2026 · last updated October 9, 2026. Found something out of date or wrong? Tell us and we will correct it.